Steemit openmic week 83: Acoustic cover of Johnny Drille's "wait for me" by dominiqueguitars

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

After being away for so long, I'm gradually finding my feet and returning to the Steemit openmic. It was so interesting today putting this together, with my pal "Mr Milez". Every step was so interestingly beautiful. The song is titled "wait for me" and since it was originally done by a Nigerian art (Johnny Drille), there's a little of our "pigin" English somewhere in the song and if you've ever liked the Nigerian pigin English and how it's spoken, I guess here's an opportunity to get a little acquainted, don't you think?!
I won't forget to thank @luzcypher and @pfunk for sustaining this contest.. You guys are the best.
I leave y'all with this, and do hope you like it and get really entertained
Thanks!
Cheers!

Lyrics;
I don't know when I'm coming back
I'll be gone for a little while
But I will keep myself for me and you
I'll be back for you
I don't know what the future brings
But I want you to be with me
I go dey hope and pray say make you wait for me
Cause I'll come back for you

Darling
You hold my love
You are my prize
And I'll run to the finish line
My love I no go leave you run
I no go bounce your call
You'll be always on my mind
Yeah yeah

I'll be so far away
Promise you'll wait for me
I go think of you everyday
My love, yeah yeah
I may not come today
But I'll be with you again
I go dey pray for you everyday
My love, yeah yeah

As I'm leaving you behind
I'm gonna miss your smile
And the joy you bring to my wretched soul
Your love it makes me whole
This our love will never die
Darling, promise you will be mine
You see I dey do this thing
For you and me
I'll come back for you

Darling
You hold my love
You are my prize
And I'll run to the finish line
My love I no go leave you run
I no go bounce your call
You'll be always on my mind
Yeah yeah

I'll be so far away
Promise you'll wait for me
I go think of you everyday
My love, yeah yeah
I may not come today
But I'll be with you again
I go dey pray for you everyday
My love, yeah yeah

I'll be so far away
Promise you'll wait for me
I go think of you everyday
My love, yeah yeah
I may not come today
But I'll be with you again
I go dey pray for you everyday
My love, yeah yeah

My love
I think of you tonight
Cause I know dey by your side
Just wait a little while, yeah
Know that I'm alright
I'll go see you soon
Make you wait for me, my dear

Sort:  

Nice one my brother. You never did no wrong.

Thanks much my brother @papaudeme
I'm so following your lead😊

The beauty of a cover is when you can own the song, you made it yours man. I'm a huge fan of Johnny and that just won you a resteem. Great one there.

Wow!
Waking up to a comment such as this brings me great joy... You know I was a little skeptical bout doing a naija jam, I kept quizzing me, "are u sure they would understand what you saying in the video,especially the part where pigin was used in d song"... It's such a relief that you guys do understand.
Thanks for your support brother!
I appreciate it greatly!

Join The First FREE And Friendly Voting Service! Join Now! steem.link/inc

Much more thanks to u sir @luzcypher for giving us openmic back to back!

Really good and in sync performance guys, thoroughly enjoyed this entry @dominiqueguitars

I have added you to my Judge's List for Wk 83.
Please read the full review here

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-83-original-blog

Thank you so much for the honourable mention verbal D
I'm glad you like the performance and all...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46