Steemit Open Mic Week 94: American Girl (Tom Petty Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Not long after Tom Petty passed away, I was playing a solo acoustic show when someone asked if I could play one of Petty's songs. Sure, I said. I didn't quite know which one would be appropriate, though. As I was trying to think quickly, I just started playing this. Slowed down, just running the chords through my head. And it felt right. So I started singing, and it somehow worked this way.

Tom Petty was a fantastic songwriter. I think one way to tell a truly great song is to strip away all of the electric guitars and drums and gizmos and gadgets and see what you're left with. Turns out that American Girl is a sad little song. I've known this girl. I've known this feeling. I get where this song comes from...and it saddens me that the guy who wrote it is gone so soon.

This is not the version you are used to...it's not the fast rocker we hear on the radio almost every day. This is my take on a great song. I hope you enjoy it.

AMERICAN GIRL
Words & Music by TOM PETTY

Well, she was an American girl
Raised on promises
She couldn't help thinkin'
That there was a little more to life somewhere else
After all it was a great big world
With lots of places to run to
And if she had to die tryin'
She had one little promise she was gonna keep

O yeah, all right
Take it easy, baby
Make it last all night
She was an American girl

Well it was kind of cold that night,
She stood alone on her balcony
Yeah, she could hear the cars roll by,
Out on 441 like waves crashin' on the beach
And for one desperate moment
There he crept back in her memory
God it's so painful when something that's so close
Is still so far out of reach

O yeah, all right
Take it easy, baby
Make it last all night
She was an American girl

© Tom Petty

Thanks to the judges and those who make this fine contest possible:

@pfunk @luzcypher @krystle @soundlegion @passion-ground @verbal-d @meno

Sort:  

I see a lot of potential in your friend voice. Exploit it!

I have always loved Tom Petty so much, and this is such a brilliant song. I've never heard it done like this before.. magical, Dino. That's a lot of feeling in that voice right there. Time stands still when i hear you sing. ♥

Nice cover man, your voice fits well with this song. Keep it up!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Iam not familiar with the original artist but the song was familiar. I recall I've heard it...I love your guitar playing :) I may knock one day :). Great heartfelt vocals as always. All the best and good luck :)

Dino, I love Tom Petty for all the reasons you mention but I have to tell you, man - the passion in your vocal rendition here told his sad little story a whole lot better than the original version.
Loved this, brother!

@dinoromanelli you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Just listening this on Marks stream. Wonderful!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60231.85
ETH 3263.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43