Steemit Open Mic Week #87: All I Want Is You (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey...remember the 80's? Actually, I do. Way back in 1986, I was in a band in Los Angeles called 13th Floor. We were plugging away trying to get a record deal, playing as many Hollywood venues and schmoozing as many people as we could. At some point, someone in the band said, "You know what we need? We need a damn power ballad". And he was right...the ballad was what was getting everyone around us signed. So, they all looked at me. Because I was the only songwriter in the band. Okay, okay...

So, I sat down and wrote "All I Want Is You". It's important to note that this was written at least a full year before "Every Rose Has Its Thorn". And it almost worked. We were getting noticed, but we were just never in the right place at the right time. We were also not really very big on Aqua Net, spandex and wearing our day-glo underwear over our clothes. We were also more of a hard rock / blues band than we were glam or metal. So, we slipped quietly into the night of obscurity while many of our rival bands found success. Such is the life of a musician.

So, while I refused to sell my soul for fashionable acceptance and huge permed hair, I did sell a portion of it for a song that gave us at least a fighting chance. Maybe in the hands of a different band, this song might have gone somewhere. As it is, it's my memory of power balladry. I didn't want to do it, but I did it anyway.

Funny thing is, this song has outlasted all of it. The band...the Hollywood scene...all of the other music we played and those dreams and schemes we made when we were so young. So here it is. My entry into the world of the power ballad.

ALL I WANT IS YOU
Words & Music by DINO ROMANELLI

When I woke up this morning
It was damn near twelve o'clock noon
I Really hate to sleep away the day like this
Cause the night time comes too soon
But I couldn't get to sleep last night for thinking
Wondering to myself
What happened to me and you

St. Valentine's Day was yesterday
I couldn't get you on the phone
I wish I was a big enough fool to believe that
You were somewhere out there alone
Is it possible to one day wake up and just not feel
Love that was so strong
Vanished from the night before

Red roses on the counter
All wilted and dead
And at least a hundred questions
Running through my head
That I don't want the answers to
All I want is you

I got an emptiness deep inside me now
Oh, won't fade away
I got a feeling that you just haven't said
All that you got to say
This house is so cold and so lonely without you near
Wish you were here

Red roses on the counter
All wilted and dead
And at least a hundred questions
Running through my head
That I don't want the answers to
All I want is you

© Affordable Music, BMI

Sort:  

You got your entry in 6-minutes late but I've included it anyway. Please, try to get your entry in a little earlier next time. Thanks.

Sounds really good by the way.

Thank you so much! I had no idea I was pushing the deadline. I'll make sure I get it in well on time in the future.

Dino it is so beautiful. You are the most amazing songwriter, so gifted.
Is it possible to one day wake up and just not feel
I have wondered myself at times. Seems true too often.
Big cheers, lots of love!
♥-serena

Serena...you get the lines that are the most important in my songs. Always. I love playing my music for you because I KNOW you get it! Thank you!!!!!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Memorable son @dinoromanelli, liked it so much and your playing was great. Thanks for sharing.
Keep on rock'n steeming :)

Cool story... Nice Ballad, Dino... Wish I could write like you, bro... You've got a real special talent, brother!

Nice ballad Dino. You are an excellent songwritter, glad it was accepted past deadline. All the bests of lucks with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34