Steemit Open Mic Week 81: Traveling Alone (Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This one's a cover. Jason Isbell doesn't know it, but he wrote this song about me.

![U5dre9bQqsaTafXtbQiygWs4hp3p3vZ_640x480.png]

Mountain's rough this time of year
They close the highway down
They don't warn the town
I've been fighting second gear for fifteen miles or so
Trying to beat the angry snow
And I know every town worth passing through
But what good does knowing do with no one to show it to

And I've grown tired of traveling alone
Tired of traveling alone
I've grown tired of traveling alone
Won't you ride with me

I've grown tired of traveling alone
Tired of traveling alone
I've grown tired of traveling alone
Won't you ride with me, won't you ride
Won't you ride?

I quit talking to myself
And listening to the radio a long, long time ago
Damn near strangled by my appetite
In Ybor City on a Friday night
Couldn't even stand upright
So high, the street girls wouldn't take my pay
She said come see me on a better day, she just danced away

And I've grown tired of traveling alone
Tired of traveling alone
I've grown tired of traveling alone
Won't you ride with me

I've grown tired of traveling alone
Tired of traveling alone
I've grown tired of traveling alone
Won't you ride with me, won't you ride
Won't you ride?

Pain in the outside lane, I'm tired of answering to myself
Heart like a rebuilt part, I don't know how much it's got left
How much it's got left

I've grown tired of traveling alone
Tired of traveling alone
I've grown tired of traveling alone
Won't you ride with me

I've grown tired of traveling alone
Tired of traveling alone
I've grown tired of traveling alone
Won't you ride with me, won't you ride
Won't you ride?

U5dre9bQqsaTafXtbQiygWs4hp3p3vZ_640x480.png

Sort:  

Ha-ha... Jason wrote this song about me too! Nice one, Dino! Awesome, bro...

Thanks, man. Much appreciated! He does have a way with words, for sure. And a way with getting inside ones head.

very nice my friend this was lovely . great voice put me in a good place sound of them strings and that vocal with that pouring chorus

Nice, lovely rendition, vocals and guitar playing. Wishing you all the very best :) I like the chorus, very catchy. It really shows how much you enjoy singing and playing :) Good Luck! Nice brow lift at the end ;-)

Ha! Thank you so much! It's one of my favorite songs.

That was really well done! This is the first time I've heard you perform, and I'm looking forward to more!
I was enjoying plunking along with you on my bass guitar. :-)

Thank you so much, Amber! I dig what you do as well! Looking forward to hearing more!

Dino I have to say again the beginning where you walk in an notice the camera is the funniest/cutest thing I've seen on any music video on steemit! :D Cracks me up every time.

Well...gotta try and stand out somehow, ya know! :)

Many thanks! And thanks to you for an awesome contest!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69