Steemit Open Mic Week #107: Leave It All Behind (Original)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Not gonna lie to y'all. Been in a dark place for quite some time. Trying to work my way out of it...one step forward, two steps back. But I still have plenty of fight in me. Part of the fight is writing songs that let some of the demons out. This song is exactly about that. When sleep is more than elusive, and the sleep you do get is haunted. When loneliness is king, and you know that no one is knocking on your door today...or tomorrow. When you miss everything you had that was taken from you. When you have so much to give, and no one to give it to.

Quite simply...this is an outlet. This is what loneliness feels like to me. This is what life playing as a bad dream is like to me. This is also very good for me to write a song like this. "Bottled up tight as a drum" is not good therapy...getting it out in song most definitely is.

If you feel lonely...if you sometimes see no light at the end because the tunnel seems endless...this song doesn't offer the answers. But it does serve as the equivalent of screaming at the darkness and letting it know that you will not be defeated.

(Note: No prerecorded instruments or multiple instrumental or vocal tracks were used in the making of this video.)

LEAVE IT ALL BEHIND
words and music by DINO ROMANELLI

Sometimes I wake up in the morning in a cold, cold sweat
Seems I've been dreaming something bad
But then I always forget
Down in the depths of my mind
It's not so easy to leave it all behind

Sometimes I think I'm going crazy and I can't sit still
I get relief out of a bottle
Till I've had my fill
Down in the depths of my mind
It's not so easy to leave it all behind

Out of luck and out of touch
Sometimes it hurts me if I think too much
Bottled up tight as a drum
I search for answers but they just won't come

Sometimes I find myself staring at the sun up in the sky
With tears a rollin' down my face
And I just don't know why
Down in the depths of my mind
It's not so easy to leave it all behind

Out of luck and out of touch
Sometimes it hurts me if I think too much
Bottled up tight as a drum
I search for answers but they just won't come

Sometimes I wake up in the morning in a cold, cold sweat
Seems I've been dreaming something bad
But then I always forget
Down in the depths of my mind
It's not so easy to leave it all behind

© Dino Romanelli, Affordable Music (BMI)

Sort:  

Been in the dark a lot, too, Dino. Kinda withdrawn from any kind of deep conversation with much of anyone. It's all fluff n stuff. We both push people away, don't we? We even do it to each other sometimes , after all these years. . We gotta not. ❤️ I love this song. Hope you win. Hugs and love.

Awww Serena hugs to you too, you know, sometimes you need your soace, and your quiet, there is turmoil and noise and it is not you push people away, everything has its perfect time.love and cookies

Hugs to the BOTH of you! YOu are right, Serena...we really do gotta not! <3

I've been wallowing in the darkness as well.❤️

This post has been selected for curation by @isaria and has been upvoted with the @msp-music account as well as the @msp-curation account, and will be featured in @isaria's weekly music curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!

Thank you so much, Isaria!

You're awesome and your music is awesome.
I've been in a dark place lately as well.💞

Thank you, Isaria! And I'm sorry you've been there. It's not so much fun. I hope you feel better!

Love hearing you play man.

steemit_open_mic_thank_you_for_playing.png

Thank you, @luzcypher! Honored to have your open mic here to play for!

We all know the dark place, Dino, sad you have felt bad lately, I am kind of frustrated myself and fighting myself the most. Very energetic performance, and pd, thinkibg too much hurts but dumbing our senses is worse.
Healing and fullfilnent
Even when we must learn to let things go. 💕💕💕

Thank you, Pris. It seems to be we, the artistic ones, that have the fiercest demons sometimes. Dumbing the senses is worse, and it's usually my first reaction when things get dark...and of course, it only does make things worse. I'm working on it, trying to find higher and happier ground.

Hugs. We all struggle, most of us. I also find comfort in music.

Music is where I find the most comfort these days. And, hey...I'm writing, which is always a very good thing! We have this outlet, we should use it as much as we can! I'm happy you understand.

excellent theme my friend !!! ... really singing like that is singing cn the soul, it is to feel the music and be connected !!!! ... strong hug @dinoromanelli .

Hi Diana! Thank you so very much! I know you understand about singing from the soul...it's what I love about your songs! :)

Hey bro! Thanks for sharing this song, I really liked it a lot and I started to enjoy, at this moment I'm starting to follow you, regards.

Hey, Miguel! Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed this. I'll try to keep em coming for ya!

You are awesome, Dino! You rock! Suena muy bien!

Hey! Thank you so much. I appreciate the kind words always!

Oh wow, I feel like I can relate to feeling like this. Especially lately. It’s crazy the power music has to get us through the hard times. Thank you so much for sharing. I found myself continuing to hum “leave it all behind...” great performance my friend 👏🏽

Elaine! Thank you so much! It means a lot to me that you enjoyed this. I appreciate you so much!

Wow you give me goosebumps with this song. It's amazing what you can do with dark emotions. Keep it up, you're awesome.

Thank you so much! It's always good when a song can touch someone...even goosebumps! Dark emotions are so powerful. Being able to put them into song is very important to me. I'm glad you enjoyed this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93