Steemit Open Mic Week 87 - '15000' - Original music by @darrenclaxton

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow Open Mic folk!!
I thought I'd try something different this week and use some backing tracks from my song '15000'
I run the whole thing through my Zoom porta-studio into OBS (open broadcast software) which is a great free piece of software that I highly recommend!
I'm singing the main vocal part and lead guitar too, the rest has been pre-recorded and played on real instruments by me.


Thanks for stopping by for a peek and for listening to my entry this week!
Cheers!
Darren


Lyrics

As I looked out of my window
at the passer by
scruffy coat and eyes like marbles
he had a windswept sigh

Where does he come from, do I know him?
does he have a home,
drives a Bentley and eats at restaurants
always sits alone

Once I met him buying petrol
carrying this guitar
said it cost him 15000
I just knew he was wrong, knew he was wrong
knew he was wrong, knew was, I knew he was wrong

Invited me over to see his collection
of electric guitars
I didn't make it but I wish I knew that
he was a superstar

Then some neighbours told me that
he'd escaped to try and be free
to get away from the fame and the fotune
to live in privacy

Once I met him buying petrol
carrying this guitar
said it cost him 15000
I just knew he was wrong, knew he was wrong
knew he was wrong, knew was, I knew he was wrong


Thanks to @luzcypher @pfunk and the Open Mic judges for your continued support for the music community on Steemit!


EP cover.JPG


Darren Claxton is a Songwriter, Musician and Producer of his own music, from Derbyshire UK. The music he writes is often heartfelt acoustic indie folk with a sprinkling of rock and country influences, with an occasional world music flavour as heard on his track ‘Dragonfly’ . But most of all, it's his passive emotive thoughts and feelings that are delivered through that soothing vocal, and intricate guitar playing of his.

Steemthat

Sort:  

Friend, your music is genuine!
Congratulations!

@cellomusic91 It sure is genuine and all my own work! Thanks for listening!

Flipping heck that was Awesome Man! The guitar solo at the end reminded me of my teenage years bizarrely. I worked with a guy who supported the beatles and he was such a chilled out chap. The stories he told me. Nice work mate

Cheers for the compliment man! Really appreciate you coming over for a listen!

I really like your playing on this song, the parts where you get down are great! Is this the first time you've used a track you've made previously in a live performance?

Hey mate! Thanks for tuning in again!
It's the first time I've done it for Open Mic yes. I've just started performing this way with the hope of doing a Dlive stream. I'd love to play some of my songs like a mini online gig. Our broadband speed isn't sufficient yet though.

God I love how you play the guitar that I love the best theme I follow your music since I saw you here by OpenMic and besides being a great musician composer you are a very excellent person, I hope one day I can play with you that I would love. By the way, the subject that you lent me I am still getting this complicated but that I take out the greetings. Go through my profile so you can also see the OpenMic entry to see what you think.

Hey there! Thanks for popping in for a peek at my Open Mic entry!
Keep dosing your thing doll it's great!
Cheers
Darren

Darren this is great.. again reminding me of don henley a little bit. Even Bryan Adams at times. I love the song but I have to say my favorite part of the video is in the intro how you say the man escaped from America to have a quiet life over there. I wish I could do that, too!
Anyway, luv the song. 🦋🍪💕

Hey Serena!!! Thanks so much for dropping by for a little peek at my little video! I see the comparison and must say that is very flattering!!!
That's the story I was told after meeting him and I'll keep that little anecdote in my little memory now!
It would be lovely to have you over here! Even for a little holiday!
Have a great week and thanks again for loving my music!
Darren

There ya go, knockin' another one outta the park, mate! Loved the story, loved the song, and I loved the backtrack/performance!

Hey mate! Cheers for your ongoing support! Really great to be sharing my music with you all!

Listening again and just had to laugh aloud at your appropriate phrase "Escaped" from America! Ha-ha... It sure is tough to escape the shackles she imposes all across the land... :-)

DAZZA smashing out another hit!
Cool to hear you jam to your own recorded tune!
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Hey mate! Cheers dude! Was trying something a little different! It was nice to jam along with Dazza!

What a rockin' guitar solo. Good job man. I got my first electric a few months ago but I've never really done anything with it. I'm not quite sure what to do with it to be honest. I should try some of that sweet soloing that you do so well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79