Steemit Open Mic Week 79 Original: "Gonna Need a Witness" with the Band!

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Recently I did a two-day recording session with my band, "The Miller Road Band" in a cabin down in the hills of southern Ohio. The MRB happen to be my nephews and nieces, and they are siblings as well, and from oldest to youngest they are Andrew (Banjo), Carrie, (Violin), Thomas, (Cello) and Emilie (Vocals).

While we were there we also recorded my song "Gonna Need a Witness" for Open Mic Week 79. This song was inspired by the idea that it's easier to remember things when someone else is there to share them with you, but now it has another meaning for those of us here on steemit! :)

Thanks to the Millers, and thanks again to @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @verbal-d, and @meno for all of your hard work, and to @luzcypher and @pfunk for sponsoring open mic.

Lyrics:

I'm gonna need a witness, there are so many things to share
And memories are more vivid when there's someone around
Someone whose almost always there

And I'm gonna need a friendship, someone who'll listen in
Tell me your stories and I'll tell you mine
Time after time after time after time

And I'm gonna need forgiveness for all the mistakes I make
For trouble and heartache, and struggle and pain
Forgive me, forgive me, for all that I take

And I'm gonna need some truth in a world that just don't seem right
Show me what's good and show me what's not
And when it's all stripped away then what have we got

So I'm gonna need you honey, when the nights get cold and long
If we take to the higway or take to the sea
I'll be there for you and you'll be there for me

Sort:  

This reminds me of growing up back home at the Lark In The Morning Camp that would come to town each year. But that's a whole 'nother story. I loved your performance guys. Keep 'em comin'

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

Steemit Open Mic Week 79 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Well I'd like to hear that story sometime @luzcypher! Thanks again.

Very nice. Would love to hear from all of you in Five Star Entertainment community Discord server :)

https://discord.gg/VpngU2c

I LOVE this! You all sound so amazing. What a talented family! I love all these organic instruments and I love Emilie's lovely vocals as well. Do either of these band members have steemit pages? If not, then why not? ; )
Cheers!!
♥-serena

Thank you Serena! Well, only Thomas so far @thomasthemiller, but he hasn't really started using it yet!

Well. I'm officially his 8th follower. Guess I'll go sit over there in the dark and wait for him to show up someday maybe.

hello, Darkness, my old friend..

Ha ha! I'll let him know... I just followed him as well. We'll see. He's trying to figure out what to post I think. I dunno. Maybe he should do some cello tutorials, plus he's pretty funny, maybe some standup?

Yeah! I mean he already stands up while playing the cello, so he's used to the whole standing-up while performing thing already.

Ooooh..he could tell jokes WHILE playing cello. That would be cool. I've never seen a stand-up comedian playing cello. Maybe I've just been looking in the wrong places.

He can consider this my challenge. Hey, @thomasthemiller.. play me some cello music and tell me a joke at the same time.. It's really dark over here on your steemit page, man. A joke would be nice. Maybe some cello. Maybe both. Anything. You need an introduceyourself post at the very least, if you're wondering where to start on steemit. ♥ Also a discord account!

I'd upvote to see some standup!

Well let's work on him!

Wow man - cool... A Family Affair... It don't get no better than that! Nice, Daniel!

Thank you @passion-ground! They are fun to play with, that's for sure...

Ahhh! I love this! Mate, it’s such a treat for our ears to hear you guys n gals play together and this awesome song.
Watching you all and hearing you all play this style of music makes me feel like part of the family.

Love this song.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks @luzcypher, and for all the hard work!

Love it!!! Great song to all involved.Well Done

Strings all around! Great show, buckeyes :)

Well thank you! Go Bucks. :)

That looks like hours of fun ;9)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05