Steemit Open Mic Week #77 - Nothing Compares 2U by Prince (Piano Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends!

Here we are at Week 77! Now some of you may be thinking... isn’t this song by Sienad O’Connor? It was originally recorded and produced by O’Connor, but Prince actually wrote it for her. In a situation like that, I’m not really sure who is more appropriate to claim as the author. Let me know if you guys have any thoughts on that!

Anyway, here is my cover of “Nothing Compares 2U” on the piano. I know that my vocals are nothing compared to hers, but I hope you still enjoy it.

See what I did there? lol

Big shout out to our hosts @luczypher and @pfunk - and then of course our amazing judges panel! The amount of work each of you puts in every week is truly remarkable. Thanks for everything you guys do to support the music community here!

Xo, Lea

Sort:  

Video Beautiful

I love this song! I love the way Sinead and you sing it! Have you also heard the Me first and the Gimme Gimme version? I havent been able to get that version out of my head for years.... something about it... give it a listen:):)

Ooh I havnt heard that yet! I’ll definitely give it a listen. Although... is it worth it if I’m going to have it stuck in my head for a few years? 😆

You might as well take full control over what gets stuck in your head.... or it might end up being the Macarena!

Noooo... whyyyyyy!! It might need to be one of my “unexpected ukulele covers” now. I’ll definitely need a backup dancer to do the moves though. 😂

You know what the effed up part about that dance is ??? ITS THE SAME DAMN THING FOR LIKE AN ETERNITY. I figured that out at a wedding one time. It was like torture

There my friend, you have unlocked the secret to it’s popularity. By nature, most people like to feel confident and that they “know what they are doing”. The moment this song comes on, people jump up and start doing the dance because they feel confident that they know the moves! If there wasn’t a “dance” that goes with this song... people probably wouldn’t just get up and start dancing around randomly. Hence, it probably would never have become so popular - or still be a song played at weddings etc.

Lol! I think Dante forgot to include a repeating version of that song in the Nine Circles of hell. I think its the worse kind of torture

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

I once met Prince at his Paisley Park Studios in Minneapolis.

You met Prince??? 😮 😮 You are just full of surprises!

You officially win most bad-ass comment on this post.

huge love to you @coruscate

awesome

does this song resonate with you?


Comptine d'Un Autre Été- Die fabelhafte Welt der Amélie Piano [Large Version 2010].mp4

Ooh it has been so long since I have seen this movie. Beautiful piece on the piano! I wish I was talented enough to just pick up songs like that and learn it, but I focused more on learning chords in my piano training. I can read sheet music, but have a hard time working with the trouble and bass clef together. Eventually I’d like to work on this so I can play beautiful pieces like this!

Is Amelie well known in the US too?

A few days ago I told you how cute you looked, today I just said wow you sing, play and do great... who do you have to talk to to to record an album? Very lucky indeed... I'll continue to support your talent.
My English is not very good, I use a translator

Aww you are so kind! I really appreciate all of your support. By the way, your English came through perfectly!

This was AWESOME!!

Prince wrote many songs for artists and it is great to see people still recognize him.

I thought you did a really great job with this and look forward to your next video :-)

Aww thank you so much! I’m really glad you enjoyed this cover. I don’t think I actually realized how many songs Prince wrote for other artists until I was looking into this song today.

¡Bravo! ¡Aplausos!

You have an artist voice and nothing compares... to your voice :)

Haha you are awesome! I really enjoyed your play on the words from my post, and I appreciate your thoughtfulness!

i love this song! nice piano playing too :) Xx

Aww thanks girl! 😘 Means a lot coming from a great singer like yourself.

My goodness I love you, I love your sound, HIW about that voice control?
You killed the keyboard with such alacrity, I'm so amused at how you keep doing this, over and over again, I'm at the hospital with my friend and he's asking from his sick bed who owns such a lovely voice.

My goodness this is it, this is the apex you're too good to be true

Your comment really touched my heart! I hope your friend is doing OK!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60