Steemit Open Mic Week # 62 - Riptide by Vance Joy (Cover) - Featuring one of my Best Friends!!

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey Open Mic'ers!

I'm so, so excited for you guys to meet my friend Jes! She's one of the main reasons I started playing music again about four years ago. Well, I would play alone in my apartment, but it had been six or seven years since I had played in front of another human.

Quick note... Jes is SUPER camera shy and this is the first time she has ever recorded herself making music! I've been asking her to do open mic with me sometime, and this was the week she finally said yes. She was pretty nervous to play today - but she totally rocked it. I'm super proud of her for getting out of her comfort zone and putting herself out there.

We are co-workers and both started learning the ukulele around the same time four years ago. We bonded over that and started bringing our uke's to work to practice on our lunch breaks. Four years later, we are still playing at work a few times a week! There are a few quiet spots in the building we can tuck away into. Now a few other musicians have started bringing their guitars and other instruments to join us on lunch. We almost have a full band at this point! Just need a drummer... too bad @steemmatt lives on the other side of the country... :)

We are both ex-choir nerds (i'm a soprano, she's an alto) and so we love learning new songs and figuring out harmonies. Playing music regularly has been a big quality of life shift for me. Creating music with someone forges a bond that's different than other friendships and i'm super lucky to have her a singing buddy and close friend.

On the music! Riptide by Vance Joy is a song we've been playing around with lately. I hope you enjoy our cover!

Sort:  

Very nice! Love the harmonies 😊

Thanks for listening @drewley! 😊

Love it, You guys totally rocked it!

and Jes is rockin the Hawks gear, oh yeah :)

Hahah she was pissed that I didn’t show up wearing my jersey! They have a very superstitious household on game day. 😂 We actually had the Cardinals/Rams game on in the background while we were practicing. It was super fun!

You girls sound great!

Hi Jes! Hope to hear you two playing again. Your voices sound good together. Give us more.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks @luzcypher! She was super nervous to record, so I can’t wait to show her all this positive feedback! 😊 I think now that she’s done it once, she’ll be more comfortable to record again in the future. Thanks for all of your support!

I enjoyed the video. You both play very well obviously.You have lovely voice!

Thank you so much for taking the time to listen! There is nothing like making music with friends. ❤️

Nice harmonies! Though I would expect nothing less from a couple of choir geeks. Ya'll both sound great!

Thanks so much! I’ve been trying to get her on the steem train, so I can’t wait to show her all of this positive feedback from other musicians! :-)

Great duet, girls! Loved the harmonies, friendship, and fun you two shared!

Thanks @passion-ground!! Yeah... we gotta stop being so serious all the time. 😜

You did a very nice job blending both voices ! I liked the vibe of the song :) . Very nice and entertaining , it was clear you were having fun. You should definitely do more songs together . Cheers!

Thank you so much! We were definitely having a good time! Haha it’s hard not to smile when you are playing the ukulele and singing with friends.

lovely work guys this was beautiful, lovely song and great little collab the harms lovely

Wow, thanks @soundlegion! I really appreciate your feedback and support! 😊

Excellent very good cover I liked your interpretation both have a great voice.

Thanks so much for your kind words and support! ❤️

Great job! You ladies were obviously having a great time here. :) Your joyful swaying gives you away.

Haha we always have a good time when we play! Thanks for stopping by and listening!! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65476.67
ETH 3385.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18