Steemit Open Mic Week # 61 - Dock of the Bay (Cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

B6E8CACC-48BC-4D28-A30D-D6ED13D33567.jpeg

Hey Open Mic Friends!

Here is my submission for Week # 61. I decided to cover Dock of the Bay by Otis Redding this week on the piano. This is one of those songs that never gets old for me. It is somehow both relaxing and powerful at the same time.

Big thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for hosting this great weekly contest! Check out the post for Week 61 for more details.

Sort:  

Hey @coruscate this was one of your best performances thus far. Filled with emotion and soul and happiness. Otis Redding made some great songs, nice entry choice

Thank you so much @verbal-d! Otis Redding is such a talented songwriter and this is one of my favorites from him. Thanks for listening and taking the time to leave feedback!!😄

You are most welcome, you have a nice singing voice. Keep honing and improving your vibrato and note control , it is getting better Week by week. Otis Redding has got talent as a songwriter hands down! And this is a classic hit

I particularly felt your words from 1:52-1:56, 2:29-2:36, and the last note thousands of miles away like I was watching a live show right in front of me. You knocked it out of the water.

Tons of emotion (mainly joy) and just the right tempo. Great camera setup. Water and boats wisely in the backdrop. This one will get you a spot at the top or a sweep of honorable mentions. Well done.

I might as well turn my drums into a raft. You win.

I’ve been wondering if anyone would notice the boat and water artwork in the background! Haha
So cool that you pointed out the certain points in the song that spoke to you.

You really are such a gifted writer. The way you weaved the water analogy throughout the entire comment is brilliant.

I don't think anyone has ever used the words gifted and writer together when referring to me, but thank you for the generous compliment. I'll be honest that it was mostly-unintentional, but I did fight back the urge to tack one more on here.

That earns a resteem to my humble network of 339 followers, of which you and your boyfriend vote more as a team of 2 than 300 others, so I can't promise much.

Now go and get in that winner's circle!

P.S. - Let me know if you catch the subtle analogy continuation.

Oh no! I missed your subtle analogy... you are just too witty for me! 😆

I cracked up at your comment about followers because I know exactly what you mean! I have a similar amount of followers, and can count on my hands the number of people who consistently engage with my blog.

Thanks so much for the re-steem, by the way. That really means a lot!!

Welcome. Tack is a part of a sail / tacking is turning a sail boat's bow around from one side to the other. You sang about row boats, so this was unfair of me.

Our pain points sound like perfect material for a Steem-themed song if we get to compile an original trio for open mic. I envision the music to be the heavy rap beat from Office Space when the nerds beat the office printer with the baseball bat in the field.

Wow, you have quite the creative vision there! Haha

I have zero song writing abilities... but I could try my hand at rapping. 😂

Great choice! I never realized this song sounds like "Creep" at first when you play it on piano. I like the way you slowed it down. It sounds more contemplative.

Oooh interesting! I love that song too and am planning to cover it on my uke sometime for open mic. 😊

Thanks for taking the time to listen!

Cool!! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾 I grew up listening to Otis Redding!! Never get tired of his tunes.

Glad you enjoyed the cover! Otis Redding has some pretty amazing music.

Classic song. Hey, I like the format you did for your recent posts. How did you do that?

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks! Actually, @raised2b designed it for me. He just used a combination of tables and mark up to create it. If you reach out to him, I’m sure he’d help you out too!

Alto darling? :)

Definitely a soprano... 😉 Those low notes in the beginning were pretty hard for me to hit!

Thanks for listening! ❤️

Ah, I see. Soprano is super hard for me, I was always jealous of soprano voices, I could barely reach them ... I was alto in the past, like 8 years ago... :) it was nice to listen to your singing :)

That’s so funny, because I was always a little jealous of the altos! I think the lower range sounds a little bit warmer and more approachable. :-) Also, altos are usually really good at Harmony, which is something I struggle with.

Sheeeit, I love this song... Niceee cover

Great piano playing! amazing voice ( as usual)
how many instruments do you play girl!!? i have seen you do them all lol! ♥♥♥

Aww thanks girl! I just play three instruments... piano, uke and flute! 😉

"just 3" lol.. that is awesome... i play the guitar , piano and now uke, all 3 on a very basic level though. I just don't practice enough. I would also love to learn the drums and the violin... hopefully one day, righ?

Great job @coruscate! You’re awesome :)

Thanks for listening @jeffjagoe!

wow you're so cool mam, I like to play keyboard but the keyboard doesn't like me.. hehe

Aww thanks @g10a! I'm sure you and the keyboard just had a misunderstanding. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25