You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Mic Week 40 - Killing The Blues (instrumental cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

So nicely played, never heard the song before but I believe you just captured the essence.. The lyrics are so beautiful, even just to read while you're playing... What tuning is the guitar in?

Sort:  

Cheers. While comments from fellow performers/writers etc. don't (as far as I am aware) carry any extra weight on Steemit, they do to me! So thank you very much. That particular dobro is tuned to open D (D A D F# A D).

Ohhh so that's called a dobro...! I play a few songs in that tuning, my version of 'high and dry' by Radiohead is in DADF#AD, I posted it on here a few weeks ago. Keep it up mate!

Dobro is actually the make TBH, they are generally known as resophonic or resonator guitars. The other one I have is wooden bodied and generally tuned to open G (D G D G B D).

I must confess to not being very Radiohead savvy, but I'll maybe take a look at both versions.

Haha I was gonna say that Radiohead might not be your thing? It's one of their early songs though so it's nothing too alarming, just a nice pop song I remember from the radio when I was a kid. :)

I have always tried to give anything a listen and I generally respect things that are well composed/played even if I don't favour the genre particularly. 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50