Open Mic Week 43 - "Crawling" by Linkin Park acoustic cover

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Week 43-01.png

Though I knew I probably wouldn't be alone this week, I absolutely HAD to do a Linkin Park cover of some sort. I, like many of us, grew up listening to them and they are probably one of the biggest influences I've had in my life on my musical taste. The band was just so ahead of their time and their first two albums were complete masterpieces to me, listening on report for hours at a time during my junior high days. This is my acoustic version of "Crawling" which takes on a completely new vibe when stripped of the instrumentation. I hope you guys enjoy this!

As always, thank you to @luzcypher and @pfunk for continuing to push this awesome contest each week. It was a hot day today in Springfield, MO so I apologize for the lack of shirt. I believe it was Socrates who once said "Suns out, guns out... bro", or something similar that was lost in translation. Thanks for watching steemit!

Sort:  

What a haunting cover of this song, @chrisgoans...definitely takes on a different life in this context as well as with the passing of Chester Bennington. Good job, and quite pertinent from a pop culture perspective.

Such a HUGE influence on pop culture and specifically their unique brand of rock music. They paved the way for an entire new form of aggressive "not quite" metal.

Beautiful! What's happened in the past few months in the music world is so sad... First Chris Cornell, then Chester, and now they're thinking they were both murdered... Anyway it sounds great! Good luck this week!

I knew Chris and cried my eyes out when I heard what happened.

I can imagine... Even I cried. And now that they think it was murder... 😡 I just can't believe it...

I know it's crazy and extremely sad. I normally try to steer clear of the celebrity death bandwagon but this one ripped out a part of my 6th grade soul. Such a huge part of my early junior high was spent soaking in their music.

This death has really put into perspective how young so many people are compared to me in my world. Lol. I've been realizing just how much younger my local music colleagues are through the relating of Linkin Park to what age y'all were when you were first exposed to them. grandmalife lmao

Hahaha context is everything when it comes to aging. In my mind I still feel like I'm 23 or so until I do the math and like, oh shit, I was WAYY off. It seems like once the major milestones are reached (drivers license, "adulthood", legal for booze) I just kinda stopped counting...

When I moved to Springfield a few years ago, I just didn't ask people how old they were anymore...I don't know why. For a long time, I made sure I knew how old everyone was (no idea why), but now I don't really care...I mean if you're a friend, you're a friend...but hearing how people's first CDs were Linkin Park and stuff like that...yeah, I feel old.

Definitely not my first CD haha. My first CD I recall was Big Willie Style lmfao. Classic!

Bwahaha! Grandma life... Hilarious... But I do know the feeling though because that's how Chris Cornell was for me. Soundgarden and Alice In Chains albums we're going in my head phones constantly as a young kid...

ya i really can't believe Cornell is gone. so many artists have been dropping off, it's a little weird or maybe it's just ive reached that age where the people i grew up with decide to go. there's really suspicion of murder for conell?

Yeah... Supposedly they we're about to expose a huge pedophile ring in the entertainment biz or something...

Haha - I played along with this earlier on acoustic and thought it might work done more-or-less this way! You bastard, beat me to it :D

Cracking version, man, nicely done ;)

Haha don't let me slow you down post yours anyway! I knew I wouldn't be the only one with Linkin Park on the brain this week so I'm eager to hear more 👍

When I get it sorted I'll tag you :) I'm working on a version of Like a Stone too, Audioslave, I loved Soundgarden when I was learning to play...

A sad year, man.

No doubt my friend, very sad.

@chrigoans ... Great tribute to one of your major influences, nicely done as always!

Thank you very much!

Hi good post nice to me you i am @djnoel ;)

That was pretty kickass man!
Good work. :)

Thank you for watching and for the kind words!

Although I was never a fan of Chester, I mourn any human being who goes needlessly like that and there was no denying the mans talent and influence in the realm of hard rock. I hope he and Chris and their loved ones find justice.
Great job man!

You sing it well and bring your awesome vibe to the song. Thanks

Thank you for taking the time once again my friend. Glad you enjoy it!

Epic stuff buddy

can't find a way to get a hold of you but if you want to join the Discord channel with everyone form the Beat Battle and Rap Challenge join here buddy
https://discord.gg/5Qr86Q8

Beautiful tribute Chris. Thank you very much, you made it sound great. <3

Thank you for the kind words and for checking it out! I saw a slow piano version of this on Youtube that they performed live a few months ago and it was so good that I had to attempt it. It's crazy how different the song becomes when it's stripped down to the bare minimum.

Yeah? I'll have to check out that piano version. Stripping it down definitely brings out more of the sadness in the song, the original version more of the anger. You did it justice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55