Open Mic Week 35 - "Wasted Days" original musicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

"Wasted Days" is a song I wrote while attending college when getting "wasted" was a frequent occurrence for me. It is essentially a reflection on how many days and nights I spent drinking life away and how little time I spent actually doing anything productive towards my dreams or goals. The chorus of the song is basically the inner me encouraging myself to continue partying because tomorrow isn't necessarily important, and that the temporary fun of the here and now is what mattered most. Below is a copy of the lyrics for the song so that you guys can read through if you wish. If you enjoy what you hear, please click here to go to my Youtube page and hit subscribe for me: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRKDnEtIQft9uaTo6tfLZgQ

"Wasted Days" Lyrics

Forget about tomorrow, crack another bottle, I'm about to have a good time
Not a worry cuz the nights so young, not a worry cuz the nights so young

I was daydreaming for a little bit yesterday, I saw some glimpses of tomorrow then it went away
I guess its safe to say that present day was the dreams of yesterday so unless you plan on staying where you lay, get up and live today
I've been laying here for a minute, for awhile, got the future in my hands but I've been living in denial
Oh where does the time go? Wasting every minute living by the same motto

Forget about tomorrow, crack another bottle, I'm about to have a good time
Not a worry cuz the nights so young, not a worry cuz the nights so young
This life is our to take, this future make or break
Not a worry cuz the nights so young, I'm just living for today

Pressing forward, hither coming, never pausing always running
wasted days have came and went, hours, minutes, seconds spent
wishing, wanting, hoping, praying, wasted tasks that keep delaying
sleep until the dawn erupts then live before the moon comes up
such is life, such is fate, it always comes and never waits
so seize the day and make it last, for yesterday is in the past
and even though I'm wasting life away
every single night I sit around and think the same thing

Forget about tomorrow, crack another bottle, I'm about to have a good time
Not a worry cuz the nights so young, not a worry cuz the nights so young
This life is our to take, this future make or break
Not a worry cuz the nights so young, I'm just living for today

I've got a bag packed and a flight next week
You can run fast but you can't catch me
And I've wasted too many days in this town
Gotta get out now

I've got a bag packed and a flight next week
You can run fast but you can't catch me
And I've wasted too many days in this town
Gotta get out now

Sort:  

Nice dude! :D

Nice, you a big 21 pilots fan? I hear some of that style in this, maybe it's the sing/rap combo

Haha I never even thought of that before but yes, I really enjoy them especially their first album.

yeah I agree the melody sounds very familiar to me.

fantastic composition.

Nice! I dig it. :D

I really enjoyed that you transitioned between finger picking and strumming while also transitioning between sing and rapping...great job Brother!

Thank you for checking it out and I'm glad you liked it! Hopefully I'll get some more up soon.

I will look forward to it!

this is so nice - I will follow you ;)

Thanks for checking it out!

Beautiful song.

I can hear a whole band in my head playing this song. Good one, man.

Than you! I'm actually working on a recorded version at the moment with full instrumental included so will share on steemit in the near future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43