🎤Steemit Open Mic Week 55🎤 - Ukulele Cover- Manifesto II

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Greetings, Steemians!

This is my first, and possibly only entry into the Steemit Open Mic contest😳.

I finally got up enough courage... and breathe... and my hands stopped sweating just for a moment... And by golly! I recorded a (long) video of me singing and playing the ukulele.🙃

Then I put a cute background behind me and a little intro and outro (I really like video editing).

While PowerDirector was producing and uploading my video to youtube, I popped over to check out the other contestants. And I was all like

These people are really good! Like REALLY good. I honestly have no place in this contest, but husband @chrisroberts reminds I shouldn't enter just to win, but for the experience.

But really. He's right. 😍

So I decided to do it. Then the Universe was all like, "Nope. Not today. Not. To. Day." PowerDirector was having complications... or more just not doing its job. Jerk. 😒

Here I am, day two, attempting to upload directly to YouTube whilst writing this.
You may ask, "Carrie, why don't you use DTube?"
An excellent question, my darlings!😍 Living in the middle of a high mountain desert, while beautiful, has the WORST internet. Or, at least that's what I'm blaming for now.😏 I've not actually ever been able to even VIEW a video on DTube- they simply won't load. So until all the bugs are smooshed, I use Youtube for its convenience.

The final reason I decided to just 'go for it', is the number of actual views the contest currently gets. It's not so many (yet). At best, if I were hopeful 🤣, I may get 10 ACTUAL pairs of eyeballs that view part of my video. It's long, so I don't expect anyone to make it all the way through... unless you just like pink. 😆

In all fairness to me, it's not THAT bad. It's just not that good. I have no visions of grandeur. I simply like playing.🎵


Oh! Once I get big and have more people that know I exist here, I'm gonna try my Medicre Monday Contest again. It's more up my alley. I tried it way too early on and no one entered. No one. 😏 Have no fear though. I don't give up easily.


Ok... I suppose I've stalled long enough.

On to the show!

Or not. I mean, reading this blog post was enough. I sincerely thank you for just that.😍

I just checked. It worked. It's been uploaded. Currently ANYONE can see it.

I just watched it. And to be honest, there are a few amusing little tidbits to my personality in there. It could totally be worse.

Still, we can be friends even if you DON'T view. 😏

Ok!

Here it is. Please be kind.


All images were created by me and/or are from Bitmoji.com.


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses💋carrie signature.gif

carrieallen signature 2.png

Sort:  

Good that you took your husbands advice... Good for all of us that is!! This was splendid, and you got a whole lot more than just 10 views... I think you now get where the whole Open Mic thing gets all of its well-deserved glory... That's right... from people just like you and your hubby, Chris! Loved this! Oh, and btw... the messed up end (NOT) leading to that slowed down magical wind down was well worth the wait! Very grateful indeed... Maybe, perhaps... it's just all gonna work out in the end.... Definitely gonna try it out!

Thank you!
You watched the WHOLE thing!? That's a lot of your life I just stole. 😉

I just checked (and unless something's wrong with the embed code), you're right, I've so far (in 6 hours) had 11 views! More than I expected already. 😜 And 7 out of those 11 felt moved to comment (one being the hubs 😍 ), so that's pretty good too, me thinks. 😃

I'm guessing those others upvotes are from folks who read the blog, but don't watch the video. I totally (so far) have chosen not to promote this. I wanted to see what I could do... just me. 😏

P.S. I LOVE YOUR VIDEOS. Yes, I've only see a few so far, but LOVE.

Thank you times a million for the kind words!

You have a lovely voice, played the ukelele well, very enjoyable performance.
You should do more and keep building your confidence as you habe nothing to fear! 😊

Agreed. It will start to feel less weird the more you do it.

That helps a lot, actually. For being a Theatre Performance major at University, I've got some weird performance anxiety...

You're welcome. We can all have that anxiety and nerves, but you made it look like you were comfortable. Hope to see more performances from you soon! 😊😊

I consulted the Magic 8 Ball...

Still not clear...

Well we Steemians support you either way, but we really hope to see more because you have talent that needs to be shown to many!

Awesome! The background shot is fantastic!

Lol! It's one of the images that came with PowerDirector... and it matched my shirt! #winning !

That was so sweet! No need to be anxious but I totally get that. I'm the same but I don't sound half as good as you do.
Actually I really liked your blog entry, all the fancy things you put in there. How about doing a tutorial how to pimp your blog? I'm a tech idiot and am in awe about all the cool stuff one can do with this. Imma gonna check out this contest of yours.

I totally WILL make a tutorial. 😃 So soon. Days even.😎

I've been figuring it out and really feel like I know how to pimp my posts. LOL!

You can also do everything in a comment that you can on a post using markdown.

I've even taught my hubs @chrisroberts to do it and he, too, isn't the most computer savvy (just for not wanting to). Go check out one of his posts. He uses Bitmoji too. I made it for him. 😍

I probably won't start Mediocre Mondays again until I pump up my following a little more. When I tried before, the post only was seen by 25 before paying out, none of who were interested. 😕

And thank you so much for the words of encouragement. For some reason, I need it.

I just followed you. "Mediocre, at best." LoL! I always say I'm pretty good at everything, meaning I'm not really awesome at anything... Or mediocre, at best. Thus, my contest title.

Mostly, I kid. I think I'm awesome.😎
But isn't that really just a human instinct?

Yeah, haha, I always say I'm cursed with too many talents. I have a bitmoji too but never even thought about putting them in my posts. Apart Fromm not knowing how to.
Can't wait for that tutorial. Followed. ♥️

told you before and ill say it again. Amazing voice and singing Carrie ! :D I can listen to this over and over again

@mcfarhat ! You are so dang sweet!

And I KNOW you're not lying, cause you wrote it into the blockchain. 😃

Thank you!

hahaha so truee ! :D

Limericks? ukulele? Writing? What's next The Voice?
Excellent Cover!
@Lymmerik

Thank you!

It's quite possible I can do it all. 😎

I can also play the piano. LOL!

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Welcome to Steemit Open Mic. You sound really good too and have a pretty voice. This is a really fun performance.

husband @chrisroberts reminds I shouldn't enter just to win, but for the experience.

Your husband is right. We're just having fun here and OpenMic is about building community more than a competition. The rewards are just an extra incentive. Hope to hear more from you soon.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you so much for the warm welcome. ❤️

I seriously feel a bit weird about putting stuff out on the blockchain (for permanent) that is subpar.
The comments, especially yours, totally help.

I'll probably even start playing more because of this and have other things to share.🙃

The hubs and I like to play/perform together. So that'll probably be coming too.

I REALLY love the community that I've seen come out of this so far. Everyone is so supportive in their comments. I also like that there are so many different TYPES of talent popping up.

Thanks for hosting and helping make Steemit a place I like to hang out.

Fantastic! You missed your calling. Wait, maybe your calling was to be a Steemit Open Mic Ukelele performer, and then...Seriously, great performance!

Encore...encore!

Thank you so much! I'm blushing.

lol You're welcome.

Very enjoyable read and you are a much better musical performer than you think.

Thank you so much!
I really like the blog side of things, but LOVE making music in my downtime.

All this nice feedback may push me to do more. 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62258.82
ETH 2427.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58