Steemit Open Mic Week 46 - "Balloon Song" - Original (improv) Song

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Balloon Song Snap.jpg
I have been meaning to enter the Steemit open mic contest since I first heard about it a few days after joining Steemit. There seems to be a strong correlation between having two kids under the age of three and not having a lot of time to record myself performing my original songs.

So I finally just decided to record the kind of music I actually do get to play all the time - the easiest way to keep Thing One from killing Thing Two is for me to play guitar and improv lyrics based on Thing One's suggestions. It keeps him involved in what I am doing. We have done literally hundreds of these improv numbers so this is old hat for us. He won't let me play one of my actual songs but if I sing what he tells me to sing he is all about it. I am holding my phone between my knees while I am playing, sorry for the crappy cinematography!

To learn more about the Steemit Open Mic contest visit the week 46 contest page here:
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-46-record-your-performance-on-your-phone-enter-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Or look on @luzcypher's blog to see the latest week's post, contest update, and other great content from a great Steemer - give @luzcypher an upvote, follow and/or resteem!

Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

Fun stuff, thanks for letting us stream it live today on MSP WAVES RADIO
to the steemit community! (http://mspwaves.com)

No, thank you for playing it! It was great to hear my voice on the minnow support waves :) Cheers

Wow... That was rather inspiring on numerous fronts... You've got two beautiful things there, and they obviously have one fine Dad! Loved the song, melody, and chord progressions - ... I see lots of talent and a super loving Dad with two beautiful children...

Aww thanks @passion-ground! What a great comment! Thing One and Thing Two are awesome and they keep me on my toes. Thing One is already a pretty talented musician in his own right, he makes up songs and melodies and scats along to existing melodies... super proud dad :) Cheers - Carl

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gnashster from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thanks for upvoting on my entry, I came along to listen to yours here and I like the atmosphere and especially your warm clear voice! And now I want some kids too:) Best wishes to you..following!

Thanks @senzenfrenz, I appreciate the complement! Kids... may fall into the category of "things best observed from a distance" for some people. I highly recommend fatherhood/motherhood to anyone but make sure you are really committed to it because it takes all of your attention and energy. If you aren't ready for that commitment feel free to follow me for your kid fix, I will post more of Thing One and Thing Two I am sure!!! cheers :)

dude, this is so awesome!

Thanks @st3llar - this is what we spend a LOT of time doing. At this point he just expects to be able to tell me any topic for a song. Sing the "ottoman" song (as he is rummaging through the ottoman for a toy)... okay dude let me just make that up real quick :)

this is so awesome !!! oh my god i am a fan now !! upvoted :D

Thanks @chapterclosed! I checked out your page, love your art and following you now! Cheers - Carl

Thanks for hosting a great contest @luzcypher! I have been lurking in the reeds watching you guys having fun each week and finally got off my butt to enter properly. I believe openmic was one of the first tags I used on Steemit but I hadn't even encountered your contest post yet, just saw the tag being used and used it. So I guess I tag jacked. Happy to use openmic as my FIRST tag finally :) It won't be the last time. Cheers - Carl (@gnashster on Discord)

Can you dance more in the carpet? almost falls twice

Yeah but that was a pretty good save right? LOL

Yeah Thing 1 was able to stay upright haha

Hey @carlgnash, looks like a good time was had by all :) Made me smile on the way to work so well done for that!

Thanks Elliot! If I can put a smile on anyone's face I am happy - that is really the best possible outcome when it comes to playing music :) Cheers

your children never will get bored , great song !!

Thanks @artashadamyan! I will never get bored either, I can tell you that much - Thing One and Thing Two keep me on my toes! I hope to enter a "real" song one of these weeks in the open mic contest but I am glad that my little improv number here is being well received :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47