Open Mic Week 59 - "Fairwind" Original Song

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

My lovely sister Lenore was in town this past week and we recorded an Open Mic entry together! I have been having issues with Youtube not wanting to upload this for some reason, even after I compressed the video. I finally got it uploaded, I hope I am still squeezing this in before the contest deadline.

I have talked about my sister here at Open Mic before but this is a much happier occasion and song. I wrote this song for my lovely wife @dillemma some years ago and it has always been one of my sister's favorite songs of mine. We had a lot of fun working up some harmony parts - Nori (as we called her growing up) is actually singing the main melody line over the verse and I am singing a harmony part I came up with, while I am singing the main melody line over the chorus and she is singing a harmony.

Sorry about the poor lighting! Much love from Carl and Nori!

Fairwind Lyrics


There was a winding road that brought you here to me
The story has never been all the way told
But the pieces unfold

A fair wind blew
Blew
Blew
A fair wind blew you back to me

Now we find ourselves in the garden of make believe
All these actors are lost to us, trapped in the past
Tried and true
Tried and true, mind you
Tired and blue

And the smoke stack sings
A sad song to the dawn
A sad song
Blue
Blue
A fair wind blew you back to me (Blue)

Sort:  

Music performance is magic sometimes!!!!Brasilian hugs!!! Thanks!

@carlgnash, @spiga is a friend of mine here in Brazil and I agree with every single word he said!

I like your style playing guitar sir . . .

You apologized for the light? Man I love mood it created. That slide guitar is so beautiful to listen to. You and your sister are really super talented. Awesome stuff! Resteemed.

So very nice to see you there with your Sis, Nori amid such a happy and festive visit! Loved the back and forth in sharing the primary melodies and harmony vocals - and yeah, that slide guitar action was quite nice, Carl! Much love, brother!

Awesome! Your voices go so well together. This a wonderful song really.

I really like the way you put those harmonies together! Very nice!

@carlgnash please join me this discord which i own, https://discord.gg/zkTeKeS

I need to speak to you and I am no longer in our former mutual server, but i just got the thing you sent me and I need to discuss that with you, It can go to great use, but not in the way you suggested due to changes in some things. Hate to be cryptic but this is not for public consumption. Hit me up please. At your convenience. I'm generally in my usual here at all hours mode.

It's awesome that you have such a musical family, this duet was really adorable :)

wow :) i love the voices. your sis is awesome!
but man, you're holding the guitar wrong! :D lol jk

Thanks for the music. Love that slide sound and great harmonies.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63270.29
ETH 3464.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51