Steemit Openmic Week 73 - Sunday Morning - Original Composition

in #openmic6 years ago

Here is my submission for this week's open mic. I composed this maybe 15 years ago?

I played in two bands for the last few years and they both broke up at the end of last year, so I've started playing solo. I figured it was time that some of my own material was polished off and presented to the world. It makes me feel vulnerable, but at the same time, it scratches an itch that I don't think I even knew was there. The Steemit platform in particular has inspired me to put some of myself out there, for better or for worse.

The #openmic on Steemit is a fantastic thing. I'm getting to listen to such incredible music and thoroughly having a good time. Thank you.

Sort:  

Beautiful.

Well I for one am glad you have "put yourself out there" as I love your compositions.

Perfect lazy Sunday morning listening!!

Good luck this week.

@camuel I love listening to you play. Your music takes me away. Thanks for sharing your talent with all of us

Wow, that's so kind of you to say. Thank you.

very pleasant composition ;9)

Thank you!

Nice chops mate!
Really enjoyed those pretty melodies too.
Kindest
Darren

Thanks Darren. I'm really enjoying taking part and following others' entries.

Beautiful as always @camuel. I so much love the melody from the guitar.

Thank you so much. You're very kind.

yes. gorgeous guitar playing. Such a warm sound, I wish it was summertime already! openmic has been a revelation for me as well, for better or worse! Glad to hear you brother :)

I love the quazi-hendrix-starspangledbanner ending as well! haha

Thank you. That means a lot and I really appreciate your kind comments.

How come your bands broke up?
Beautiful little ditty btw. You need to get some singing to go with it!

There was a husband/wife with me in both bands and they split up.
Thanks for the compliment. I'll do some cover songs for the next ones. I'm rubbish at lyrics lol.

Ahh marriage problems effecting the band eh, haha bet those last few rehearsals went well, oj ;) Your playing reminds me a bit of Mark Knopfler when he does his acoustic stuff.
Do you know any Dire Straits covers?

Hey, thanks for the compliment. I'll take it! Mark Knopfler is one of my biggest heroes, but strangely I don't do any covers. The Sailing to Philadelphia album as a bunch of songs I'd love to do, but I just never got to it. Springsteen's acoustic stuff is up there too - I play three of his songs from The Ghost of Tom Joad and a couple from The Seeger Sessions.

beautiful composition my friend, playing is gorgeous

Thank you! I'm super stoked to compose more now after the wonderful response I've had on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52