STEEMIT Open Mic Week 79 - My Mary of the Curling Hair - trad. arr.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This is an Irish air I learned from the wonderful El McMeen. This was my introduction to the alternate tuning that El uses - CGDGAD. It has a really nice lyrical quality to it and I enjoy playing tunes in that tuning.

This is based on El's arrangement - I added the lower register part and I was quite proud of it. It was the first time that I'd attempted any sort of arranging in fingerstyle guitar and I really ought to do it more.

I visited El at his home in New Jersey, USA in 2005 where I had an extended lesson with him. Has anyone ever travelled further for a guitar lesson lol? (I lived in Luxembourg at the time).

Thank you all for your support with openmic and music in general. I feel like I'm growing as a musician through this platform and it's empowering.

steemit_open_mic_week_79.png

Sort:  

Nice song - well played! I bet those strings felt like rubber bands in that tuning.

Yeah, they get a little loose! Thanks!

Such a lovely composition, and very well played, @camuel - I really enjoyed this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80