🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 72 - “Our Lady Mother Nature” (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

One of our bedtime songs recognizes the vibrational energy of Mother Nature, who teaches us. As a family, we often see that our experiences outdoors help us to better know our Nature–inside and outside. Observing the mountains, we learn to stand firm, for example.


“Our Lady Mother Nature”

The Story

This song arrived in my life almost a year ago, in the Big Bend area of Texas. Our tipi encampment was setup by the bank of the Rio Grande, bordering Mexico. It's a desert wilderness, where tipis have stood for thousands of years. Each year, my brothers and I retreat to this mystical place.

The Big Bend experience is rich with life lessons, as we face the harsh extremes of the natural elements. The sun can be fierce, of course. The windstorms can be violent at times, while other times the breeze is a soft caress. The cleanliness of the river is debatable, but on occasion, when the sunlight sparkles on the surface, there's nothing more satisfying than a swim to Mexico.

I'm starting to gear-up for this year's retreat; we're leaving a week from today. Interestingly, a great blue heron showed up right outside our living room window. Fortunately, I had just enough time to setup my camera and snap a photo and a video clip just before he took off. You can see this footage at the beginning of the song, shown above.

Being the dream reader I am, I see some interesting symbolic meaning in the heron as a Spirit guide. The heron is a water bird, with enormous size, and these qualities give the heron special strength in wading the deeper waters. As a symbol, the heron indicates readiness to stand strong in the deeper reaches of emotional feeling and expressing. To me, the first message in this bird sighting is this: I am prepared to go deep.

Another thing I notice in the heron is that this bird flies solo. According to Wikipedia, herons are lone hunter, only gathering in colonies during breeding season. Because this is verifiably true, the arrival of the heron represents the ability to stand and soar alone. This message brings comfort to me, as I ready myself for the Big Bend adventure, where I'll spend most of my time in isolation.


The Lyrics

Oh, Our Lady, Mother Nature
Your vibration brings us firmness
For You teach us in the mountains
To stand with great strength

Oh, Our Lady, Mother Nature
Your vibration brings us stillness
For You teach us in the desert
To relax in the fiery sun

Oh, Our Lady, Mother Nature
Your vibration brings us comfort
For You teach us in the country
To sway with the wind

Oh, Our Lady, Mother Nature
Your vibration brings us beauty
For You teach us in the forest
To sing in harmony

Oh, Our Lady, Mother Nature
Your vibration brings us wonder
For You teach us in the ocean
To cry so colorfully


The Acknowledgements

It's been a pleasure participating in Steemit Open Mic. As I've expressed in the video here, this song is designed to be shared in a group, and so it is formatted as a call-and-response, with repetitive verses. This style of songwriting is different from most of the entries we see in the Open Mic. My personal feeling is that music is most enjoyable when we can all sing together, joining our voices, interacting through a unified melody and an expressive harmony.

Thank you for accepting me just as I am, and allowing me to share this music that is so special to me. Being here has allowed me to refine and improve my musicianship, and I believe this is just the beginning of an eternal Journey as a music man. Thanks to the host, the sponsor, the support team, the audience, the musicians, and the Force that draws us to grow together.


This post contains 100% original content by @cabelindsay.

Sort:  

Well, that was sweet – as per usual. ;) I've had this open in a browser since you posted, awaiting a quiet moment to give it a listen. Just put it on full volume as I did some dishes...now it's stuck in my head. • It occurs to me that your family would've fit in quite well at the spiritual commune where I lived as a child. Lama Foundation in New Mexico, in the Sangre De Cristo mountains just above Taos. Have you heard of it?

Ow wow, you lived there?! Awesome. One of my Uncles lives there: Chief Marvin Swallow. I'm in awe of that place, with the mountains, the Earthships, and the generally mystical nature of that entire area, chiefly Taos. I'd love to know more about your life there, you know, so please buzz me if you ever decide to post about your childhood.

Thanks for giving this song a listen. Interestingly, I just found yours too, and cherished it. Cheers to a sweet Open Mic Week #72! <3

@cabelindsay you bless us all so much 💙❤️💚

You say the kindest things, you know, and the most heart-felt. I nominate you as Steem Queen. Are we accepting nominations for this position yet? Thinking we could use a voice like yours in the royal leadership committee. #steemqueen

Hehehe you are the best @cabelindsay ❤️👑 I thoroughly enjoy you!

Hi @cabelindsay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @mountainjewel!

You can now delegate SP to @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Yay, so nice! Thank you @mountainjewel. 💎

So cool for your kids to grow singing this song ♥

Thank you. That's exactly how I feel. I'm so grateful for this song, and the way it reminds my family and I to grow more and more familiar with our Nature.

So beautiful!! Really loved the song :D

Thanks for your note here! :)

A very strong piece 💜

Thank you. Hope you're enjoying your newness on Steemit. Welcome!

are u singer

Your songs always touch my heart, my friend.❤💕❤

Thank you so much. Your messages do the same for me. I'm so happy to be in community with you. Love you!

A very beautiful song. Mother nature is great and we should come more close to it :)

Thank you @hanen. Your comments are delightful, you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36