🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 56 - “The Animals Come” (Original Song)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

An intimate look at the Standing Rock movement is shown here, accompanying this morning's live recording of the song it inspired in me.

The Animals Come

The Story

This song arrived on December 2, 2016, just after I returned from the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation in North Dakota. I was there on a photojournalism mission, inspired to serve my country by documenting the story of the families affected by the Dakota Access Pipeline (DAPL). The footage you see here is all original, captured live at Standing Rock, by myself. This is my first work of activism, and it left me with the feeling that documentary filmmaking is my Work, with a capital “W”, and it is an honor.


The Standing Rock Movement

The Standing Rock Movement was a historic gathering of 200 tribes throughout the Americas, who drew together to protect the Missouri River, as a symbol for all the world’s clean waters. I supported the International Indigenous Youth Council there, who called for documentarians worldwide to extend their camera services to North Dakota, providing photo and video journalism in support of the movement. Feeling called to serve my country, I made the historic journey and created a documentary called Standing In Solidarity With The Standing Rock Sioux. Here is the Film Preview.

A little girl in a pink jacket sits on her mother’s shoulders, marching with 1000 relatives to create a massive Medicine Wheel visible from the heights. These are the peaceful and prayerful warriors that are the focus of my story and film.

In the Lakota language, “Mni Wiconi” means “Water Is Life.” This was the rallying cry, calling people across the world to stand together to protect the waters. Family members of all ages and ethnicities belonged to the Standing Rock movement, sharing meals, sharing fires, and sharing prayers. As of mid-November 2016, thousands of water protectors gathered as a singular “Greater Family” on the campgrounds surrounding the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation. This is their story.


The Lyrics

The animals come from the sky
Hummingbirds herons butterflies
Two young swans
Gracing the waters

Up where the eagles reach
Higher than the mountain peaks
Breezing through clouds (Blazing)
Blessing the waters

The animals come from the sea
Angelfish sea stars moon jellies
Great blue whales
Gracing the waters

Down where the dolphins rise
From the darkness to the daylight
Blasting through waves
Blessing the waters

The animals come from the land
Buffalo turtles mountain lions
A doe and her fawns
Gracing the waters

Out where the lone wolf howls
Crying out loud Hallelu
Braving a blizzard
Blessing the waters

The animals come from all nations
Red yellow black white four directions
Little children
Gracing the waters

Out where the warriors stand
Peaceful prayerful hand-in-hand
Being in ceremony
Blessing the waters


The Steemit Open Mic

This is my seventh entry in the Steemit Open Mic. I'm grateful for the opportunity to enter the spotlight again, and root for you, my brother and my sister, as you do the same. I'm thankful to be here, and delighted to contribute my creations, comments, and curation.


All content is original, by @cabelindsay.

Sort:  

Very original sound.
My friend Daniell was one of the organizers at Standing Rock.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

How cool! There's a good chance your friend and I crossed paths. It was a life-changing experience for me, in a positive way. Showed me the real possibilities that exist for living off-grid, alongside like-minded people who work together for the common good. Also taught me the to humble myself by listening twice as much and talking half as much.

Nice song dude!, and very creative video shooting! ;)

Thank you! I'm excited to explore more with videography, and in fact you're a big inspiration to me in this area. Thanks again, my friend.

you are such a nature spirit. absolutely love this energy , thank you dearly for sharing your musical sounds with us

Thanks so much! It's a real pleasure singing this song, and sharing in this way. I'm grateful for your encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40