🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 55 - “Enters The Sun” (Original Song)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

This morning's sunrise prompted me to rise and shine and sing.

The Story

I remember when this song first arrived in my life, in the Spring of 2016. The night before, I went to a sweat lodge, beginning to face the darkness hidden deep inside myself. Like everyone, I've experienced some trauma and tragedy in my youth, and my various journeys in sweat lodges and tipi meetings allow me to illuminate areas of my shadow self, in order to live with peace, love, and lightness. So, I think this song is a way of acknowledging the side of me that draws toward the Light.


The Recording

One specific event that twisted my life around was the disappearance of my dad, who fell into a river with a whirlpool. His body never surfaced. This happened in 1996, when I was 16 years old. Last year (20 years later), my brother and I returned to the same river, bringing prayers and songs to the site, and I recorded a documentary short film to share the story. During our time together, my brother played a certain rhythm on his guitar, and I sang along, with the words to “Enters The Sun,” and we recorded the music you hear here in just one take. It felt like divine intervention to me, so it became the film's soundtrack.

The song, “Enters The Sun”, provides the soundtrack to a documentary short film I produced, called “Life After Life”. This is the true story of fishermen returning to the river whirlpool in Wyoming, where one man (my dad) disappeared 20 years ago.


The New Day

Before sunup this morning, I and my son hopped on our bikes. I rode with him to school, and watched the sunrise on my return trip home, catching the sun at a time when I could gaze directly at it. I admired its bigness and felt its energy. When I arrived at home, I setup my camera, capturing the sun rays through the sun catcher and the wind chime. Then I grabbed my songbook and a maraca, taking the camera into the woods.

Fortunately, I found a nice quiet spot in the forest outside our home.


The Lyrics

Enters the Sun
Onto the horizon
Rising with the children
Indigo blue

Enters a feeling
Of happiness I Am
Receiving the blessing
Of Sun energy

I Am inspired
To echo the Sun
Casting my sunbeams
Illuminating shadows

I Am invited
To shine with all my might
Radiating Light
In every direction

Viva to Dawn
In the golden hour of morning
When the human eye
Can gaze upon the Light

Good morning Sun
Thank You for this new day
I believe I Am
Born again again


The Steemit Open Mic

This is my sixth entry in the Steemit Open Mic. I really appreciate the opportunity to enter the spotlight again, and root for others as they do the same. I've noticed that the audience here is among the most receptive and supportive in all of Steemit, including our exceptional host: @luzcypher, the steadfast sponsor: @pfunk, and an enthusiastic crowd of music aficionados. I'm thankful to be here, and delighted to contribute my creations, comments, and curation.


@cabelindsay

Sort:  

Awesome video intro! Touching story - thanks for sharing it!

I appreciate you for checking it out. I've noticed you're a very gracious Open Mic commenter week after week, and i admire that about you, as well as your passionate playing.

What a profoundly moving story and movie you've made. I'm full of astonishment by what life brings sometimes and the deep confusion and pain we humans have to reckon with. Big blessings to you and your brother and so rich to see your journey documented so beautifully and with such heart, thanks for this! upvoted resteemed following

Also it's hard to believe that we've both been on steemit for a year and this is the first time I'm seeing your amazing blog. Well glad you commented on my post this morning !

Aw, I treasure your comment here. Thank you. Your encouragement means so much to me. Yeah, I signed up for Steemit early, and then took about a year-long hiatus. Then I picked it up again a few months ago, and I've noticed how sweet it can be with the right filtering. People like you bring me here, seeking real human connections and content that informs and uplifts.

Beautiful day. I watched the sunrise today too. This reminds me of Indian chants. Where's my peace pipe? Oh, there it is.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Yeah, this song is influenced from indigenous ways for sure. I distinctly remember one time after a tipi meeting when a woman called me "Indigo" and I felt honored by that. I tip my peace pipe to you, brother. Cheers!

Your story is too nice and the song is excellent!

Hi, I'm grateful for your compliments, thank you.

I Congratulate you on this great blog
Keep going my friend
Steemit_Music_Gif.gif

High-five. Wow, what a cool animated GIF–nice one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58271.24
ETH 3134.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22