🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 53 - “The Message Of The Moon” (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

A song inspired by the great night light.

The Message Of The Moon

The Story Behind The Music

This song arrived on October 25, 2015, with Seu Luiz Mendes visiting us in Austin, from Brazil. It was another night like tonight, with the moon nearly full, with clouds rolling by. The moon’s glow lit the nearest clouds, and their movement resembled the swaying of a woman’s hair, tossed in the wind. To me, this scene looked like a woman swimming in the sky, with the moon as her face.


The Lyrics

The message of the Moon
Remember your Mother loves you.
She pacifies Her children
Steady and calm with Motherly love.

The message of the Moon
Remember your Mother shines for you.
She holds the light in the dark of night
Staying aglow for everyone.

The message of the Moon
Remember you are your Mother’s child.
She teaches you to be
A mirror of the Divine Light.


The Recording

I recorded this song from home a few weeks ago, in case you’d like to listen further.


Thanks to @luzcypher and the supportive people who make this Open Mic possible. I deeply appreciate this event's open invitation to express ourselves creatively on a weekly basis. Brilliant and beautiful. Thanks too to all of the kind supporters of live music.


@cabelindsay

Sort:  

few times ago i always seen your post yours post is such a awsm and the choice of yours lyrics is always great ..... wishing u a great success :) @cabelindsay by @sarabjotsingh

Thank you. I'm new when it comes to sharing these songs, and your positive feedback helps me feel like I'm on the right track. Do you play music too? If so, then I highly recommend this #openmic event as an excellent way to get started with Steemit.

Lovely! Got some serious folksy vibes from this one, really enjoyed. Thanks for posting!

My pleasure, and thanks for your comment. Happy Moon Day!

Full Moon tonight, harvest moon tomorrow. THANKS for sharing. next meetup, you should play us a song

Yeah, you're right about this being the harvest moon. Reminds me of Neil Young's album Harvest, with that song "Heart of Gold". Oh man, I might be up for playing a song sometime at our Austin Meetup. And then you should zoom us to Bermuda in your airplane, and officiate a wedding there with @richardcrill and @lindseylambz. ;)

NOW that is some killer kill!

Nice! I wish my fingerstyle playing was as solid as yours. I like how you put in a little extra effort with the video production.

Thank you. Video production is a passion area of mine, and I like to think of myself as a pro in that area, but there's always room for improvement. Kinda tricky sitting in front of a lens and operating the camera at the same time. Your guitar playing is solid, man. I'm impressed.

Cool thanks, I'll check out your entry for sure. Charlie Parker!

Oh wow, dude, you really know how to play an upright bass. Good Work.

Full Moon here tonight... Perfect... Nice entry, man!

Thank you brother. Your mention of "Full Moon" in title caps reminds me of Tom Petty's album: Full Moon Fever. I saw him in concert once, live at Red Rocks Amphitheater outside Denver, Colorado, and he played "I Won't Back Down," from that album. Ultra-slow, with piano. So beautiful.

Well done @cabelindsay!! Beautiful song.

Thanks! I'm looking forward to another one from you this week. I'll look for you on the announcement page.

Good of you to associate the moon with the Mother. If you're familiar with Mystic Mamma, you know that the moon is a symbol for the Divine Feminine, and I believe your song refers to this. Am I right? This is what MM says about our current full moon:

Grandmother Moon comes into her fullness in Aries reminding us to steep in the power of our own inner knowing and truth. The fire that burns within us can never be extinguished. It is this truth of our inner Being that needs to be honored and tended to.

What a colorful and meaningful reply. Thank you very much. Yes, your interpretation is in sync with mine, although I do think of musical lyrics as being interpretable in many different ways. So it might mean something to me, and something different to someone else, and that's okaybie baby. Happy Harvest Moon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66751.68
ETH 3487.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03