🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 52 - So Many Angels (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

A song of encouragement, recognizing the angels who guide and guard my family and yours.

So Many Angels

The Story Behind The Music

This song arrived on April 4, 2016, following a Santa Missa (Holy Mass). It was an eventful evening for me. I sensed the presence of my grandma, whose name is Alma, as we sang songs for the souls. "Alma" is the Portuguese word for soul, and each time we sang my grandma's name I felt connected with her. After our Work, the woman who facilitated the ceremony told me, "So many angels surround you now." Then the melody arrived, along with the words. This is one of the songs our kids request most often when we sing with them at night.


The Lyrics

So many angels
Surround me now
How can anything bring me down
When angels are all around
I have everything I need
Right here with me

So many angels
Protect my mind
Dominating everything I think
Filling me with feelings of ease
I know what I need to know
The clarity is crystal

So many angels
These rays of light
Red orange yellow green and blue
Violet indigo and others too
All the colors of the Hummingbird
And the Rainbow Warrior

So many angels
Guard my heart
Giving me the courage to devote
My soul to continual growth
Elevating consciousness
Lifting spirits


The Recording

I recorded the song a few weeks ago, late one night after tucking the kids into bed. Just a simple home recording.


Thanks again to @luzcypher and the supportive crew who make this Open Mic possible. To me, this is the single greatest community I've seen on all of Steemit, and I deeply appreciate this event's open invitation to express ourselves creatively on a weekly basis. Brilliant and beautiful. Thanks too to all of the kind supporters of live music.


@cabelindsay

Sort:  

Thanks for showing your talent in a contest full of great artists, young and old. Resteemed

It's an honor, really. So much artistry here in the #openmic event, as well as a thriving community. It's all we can ask for on Steemit: a platform for creative expression with an enthusiastic audience. I sure appreciate your encouragement. Thanks.

That is so beautiful!! Wonderfully done.. What great lyrics. Upped and resteemed

So kind! Thank you.

Love the creative camera angle, song, and reference to the two beautiful angels you have surrounding you... You are quite blessed my friend!

I feel so fortunate, brother. This family life is a gift that keeps on giving. Thank you for helping me to see these blessings.

The kids themselves are angels. You are an angel. And I am an angel.

I like to think of our higher selves being angelic. I'm working on accessing that part of me on an ongoing basis. And in the meantime, I'm grateful for the additional angels - the guardians and guides.

beautiful song and video Cabe! Glad those little angels are looking after you ;) x basil

Hey thanks! These little angels have a funny way of biting each other and crying out loud this morning, but they do have their special way of looking after me. :)

hehe. even angels....!

Fo sho! I'm honored. Thanks for holding the space. Happy Anniversary to you and the #openmic crew! You deserve a standing ovation.

is that solar panels on your kids dolls house?! 😆

Yeah, that's right! Nice catch. Yep, gotta have solar panels on a modern dollhouse .

Very cute, children are a blessing

👏👏👏👏 Fabulous! Kids make great props in videos 😉 and yours look particularly cute there. That said, I would like to hear a version with the little ones slightly lower in the mix, or even a "Past Bedtime" mix perhaps. I was pleased to be able to read the lyrics (but then I always am with original stuff!) so thank you for posting them too. Something about your style reminds me of my own son, @andybets Anyway, loved your contribution to the Open 🎤 👍

Yeah, it's true, their voices are full-blast non-stop and so it's tricky to find my voice sometimes. It's like we're raising screaming banshees around here! Or maybe our ears are just sensitive.

love love love the back up singers! nice tune! yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80