You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 61 + Open Mic Songwriters Week 1 - “Broken Mirror” (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago

Happy to hear your youngster approves. Yeah, one of my greatest joys in life right now is our nighttime ritual, when we sing and enjoy the peaceful, restful moments together. Last night the kids sang with us–that's the ultimate in sweetness!

Sort:  

That's such a wonderful ritual for your whole family... I love hearing things like that and I'm glad you told me! :-) Your children are blessed to have such creative parents... mine were too and I had a rich childhood (not money but everything that mattered), but my husband's family were the opposite... made him self-conscious and scorned creative pursuits. Thankfully he followed his dreams anyway and has books published and all sorts. His family never really know what to say to that :-) So here I raise my glass to creativity and creative families!!! Slainte to yours @cabelindsay!

Ooh, I can relate with your husband's winding path, even though my parents were art aficionados. Glad your husband found his artist way. And even happier to hear about your parents' embrace of the arts. To me, creative thinking is a lifelong gift that must be nurtured and practiced. Hugs and high-fives to you and your family!

It's so interesting the way we artists find their way in and out of the arts, and then back in again. I was immersed in art as a kid! My dad was an elementary art teacher, always having art supplies around, and also creating paintings, clay sculptures, carpentry... My fears of being a "starving artist" drove me into the advertising field, because it was a "safe" form of art–one that would pay the bills. Right? Wrong! Many bills later, I am embracing the art in me more than ever, and I'm so thankful for the twists and turns that brought me here. Turns out love, rather than fear, is the road to success in life. Am I right?

You're right, certainly! We stick with what's safe and it's so dull and dissatisfying even if it pays the bills, and what's the point in wasting our days in a job that has zero nourishment for our soul. We spend all day staring out the window dreaming of all the creative things we'd rather be doing. But there's no reason why artists have to be struggling artists.... suffer for your art and all that nonsense! That's why I celebrate the blockchain.... this is our chance... finally! Maybe no so big bucks right now but at least there's no-one saying what to do and give me a cut of your SBD slave! I think the future holds good things for all us creative people :-)

So right! Viva the blockchain!! :) Steemit just may be the very starting point to the Creative Age – when we survive and thrive by our creative thinking ability.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69345.70
ETH 3342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74