Openmic Week 32 - Sixteen Tons

in #openmic7 years ago

I thought I would attempt a cover of an older song this week, so I listened to a few versions and TRIED to come up with my own. I only did 3 of the verses but I think it gets the idea across. Hope you all enjoy!

Some people say a man is made outta mud
A poor man’s made outta muscle and blood
Muscle and blood and skin and bones
A mind that’s weak and a back that’s strong

CHORUS: You load sixteen tons and what do you get
Another day older and deeper in debt
Saint Peter dont you call me cause I can`t go
I owe my soul to the company store

I was born one mornin when the sun didnt shine
I picked up my shovel and I walked to the mine
I loaded sixteen tons of number nine coal
And the straw boss said well, a-bless my soul

If you see me comin better step aside
A lotta men didnt, a lotta men died
One fist of iron, the other of steel
If the right one don`t get you then the left one will

Sort:  

yes yes love this song perfect choice!!! sounds great! huge love

Well thank you kindly🙂

I like your style, man, it's fun to watch! Good luck 🌛

Thank you Brother. I always look forward to your playing posts as they are always unique, really dig your style.

You did it very good. I like your performance

Thank you very much Brother. Congratulations on last weeks top place and good luck this week!

2 thumbs up @brimax 1 from me and 1 from my wife, that was a favorite of hers in high school.

Thanks to both of you, glad you enjoyed it.
B

Was just lurking around here. I'm new to the platform and came across your song. Very nice. Good sound and looks like you have a good setup!

Well thank you for lurking, I really appreciate you taking the time to listen and comment. Thanks again, B

Oh gosh i love this !!! lyrics and all :D ! good playing !!

Thank you kindly. I appreciate you watching and commenting.

A fantastic song choice and great lyrics Brother B, I enjoyed this so much. Great playing and solid singing and your voice is much louder. win win on all fronts! Upvoted

Humbled at the Homestead, thank you Brother.

You're very welcome brother

Awesome cover man! You sure know how to rock those base notes and of course the stylish little solo. Keep rockin. Cheers from Brazil.

Thank you kindly Brother. I appreciate you giving up beach time in Brazil to give me a listen. Thanks again and safe travels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64850.80
ETH 3471.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55