Steemit open mic week 45 - Original song " pond (with a thousand pennies) "

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey steemians. this is my entry for this weeks open mic. Its a song i wrote a few months ago called " Pond (with a thousand pennies) ". A pond with a thousand pennies is how i see my self. I see myself as the pond and the thousand pennies are all the dreams i have that are not coming true at the moment. Some of the lyrics talk about the things i don't like about modern life but the main point of the song is about having a lot of dreams that are not coming true at the moment. As sad as the song might be i hope you enjoy it.

I completely forgot which week it was at the start of the video so i had to keep it in their because it made me laugh.

Lyrics,

(Verse)

I don't believe
In hopes and dreams
They always seem
To pass me by
Never get my hopes up
When things look bright
I just keep my mouth shut
Till the feelings right

(Chorus)

The smoke will fade away oh
With hopes of many
Im a pond with a thousand pennies

(Verse)

If you've got dreams
You won't get far
Thats what they teach
To get what they want
Creating machines
To create machines
Well it makes life seem
So dead to me

(Chorus)

The smoke will fade away oh
With hopes of many
Im a pond with a thousand pennies

(Bridge)

I don't feel the same
Im labelled as insane
But I'm not no I'm not afraid

(Chorus)

The smoke will fade away
With hopes of many
Im a pond with a thousand pennies
Im a pond with a thousand pennies
Im a pond with a thousand pennies

music and lyrics by Brandon Hill (@branhmusic)

if you want to find out more on how to enter the competition please click the link below.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-45-record-your-performance-on-your-phone-enter-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Sort:  

Glad you left that in there cause... "shit" ... it made me laugh too... Aside from that benefit, I really like this composition along with your vocal and rhythmic styling... Great one Bran!

Thank you buddy

Not discounting what you said to me.
Bran is "The Boss" after that.

I remember when there was only a bar phone in the bar.
During performances like that, the bartender would put the phone on the counter. The bar was always pin drop quiet immediately after. But the sincerity of the audience when they tell you how you touched them during that moment.....is Y we need more places with just one phone?

Hey man good point. There are still some venues in Sheffield UK at least where people know it's about the music. I'm not sure we're ever gonna get back to the land of one phone per bar. Maybe just having a sign up asking people to turn their ringers and vibes off would help. :-)

Nice songs...Great vocals☺👍
Keep it up

Cheers buddy

Hey, I really appreciate fellow songwriters, as I'm a songwriter myself so I'm gonna follow you!

Thanks buddy keep writing

Dude, you are killing it. Another great song! While I'm writing this, you have 23 views, and 23 upvotes! Nice. Keep it up! Resteeming this for sure.

Thank you buddy

Wow, everything about you is inspiring. You can always tell when it comes from the heart. Thank you!

Thank you. Always be true brother. Never sound as good when something's fake

Upvoted 100% cheers man! keep on steeming!!

Thank you man

Loved it!
What a nice song.
Keep putting out the good music out there bro. :)

Thank you I'll try

Great little song. I really like your voice and the feeling you put into it. Good lyrics too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66