Steemit Open Mic Week 42 - original

in #openmic7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians.

Welcome to my entry for Steemit open mic week 42.

I watched the original 1960 version of "The Time Machine" for the first time last year, which inspired me to write this song. It got me thinking about our society, past, present and future.

The song is called "Little Trees". In this version I used my loop pedal to provide a more full sound.

I hope you enjoy it.


~Lyrics

Little trees, they still breathe
Gently swaying along with the breeze
Big ships sail stormy seas
In the search to find their dreams

Children are playing games
Not knowing each other's names
We live in a simple place
Yet complicated, it's weird, it's strange

I don't want to go to the future
The past is bad enough
I don't want to see the future
And all the other stuff

Because I'm living now, living now, don't know how I'm living now
I'm living now, living now, I don't know how I'm living now

There's more wars at the starting line
No questions, just go and fight
Little people die, the high survive
Not so precious but used his life

And power is paper with a certain face
The more you have the more you waste
I don't want to sound in bad taste
We're all equal, it's not a race

I don't want to go to the future
The past was bad enough
I don't want to see the future
And all that other stuff

Because I'm living now, living now, don't now how I'm living now
I'm living now, living now, I don't know how I'm living now

Little trees are no more
This place, it ain't what we thought
The high, they will only fall
To little problems that they have caused

I don't want to go to the future
I don't want to go to the future
I don't want to go to the future

No I don't want to
No I don't want to
No I don't want to
No I don't want to
No I don't want to
No I don't want to

I don't want to go to the future

Music and Lyrics by @branhmusic (Brandon Hill)

Sort:  

@branhmusic! I think I am your biggest fan!! I LOVE everything about this. your loop pedal practise has worked amazing, your singing - spot on, and the lyrics to the song, by far outshine everything else that is done so amazingly in this great piece of art. If this is not the song of a young man who has just taken the red pill, become awoken to the real world and exactly what is about to happen, but is able to plead with all common and working class people to remember that we are all just people trying to be good and that the powers that be are the ones pulling the strings for paper and power, then i dont know what is. absolultely beautiful!! however, WE are the ones with the answer to make the "future" that is so feared in the song a better place, we have decentralisation, logic, an education in history and we are NOT doomed to repeat it. This is the most exciting time in history to be alive, there is nothing to fear about it, as long as it has types like these, who understand what to do and as long as the steemit project and other similar ones are around, all will be good, you will see. Thanks man! love this song! :))

Thanks so much, it's appreciated. Glad you liked the performance and it's message. Good you put a positive spin on it because mine in the song is pretty gloomey I've just done a sort of gig in King's Heath and at at the after party now and sort of Merry so speak soon soon. Thanks again.

dayum man. instant follower. this is fire. you make incredible music man. love it, great work. this song was really perfect for sunday morning here! :)

Cheers thanks buddy. Glad you liked it.

Beautiful song and very well performed. Keep the music alive.
Peace and love !!!

Thanks for your kind comments.

Great song, thoroughly enjoyed. I like the looper, it really filled it out. Good luck this week!

Thanks for the positive comments. I'm trying to utilise the loop pedal on more of my music where possible. When you are a single performer without the backing of a band it makes your sound more complete to the listener. I appreciate your time to listen and comment . Cheers buddy.

I think it's a great idea for a single performer to utilize a tool like a looper. Like you say, it makes it sound more complete. I look forward to hearing more from you.

The minions should have the power. Power to the minions.

Wow, this was really good! You are very talented! Love the loop effect and you have a very nice voice. Thanks for sharing!

Glad you liked it. Cheers buddy.

Nice entry bro... glad you're here... look forward to more of your music!

It's great to be in this community of Steemit musicians. I'm looking forward to sharing more of my music and listening to everyone else's. Glad you liked my entry and thank you for taking the time to listen and comment. Cheers.

I really like that song!! The lyrics were written really well, yet the message behind it is quite sad... Though with that said your voice and guitar playing was absolutely band on!! Followed, Re-Steemed and Up-Voted

Glad you liked it .
The lyrics do portray a pessimistic view of humanity and where we are going - it was just how I was feeling after watching the film. Just had a look at your recent post and the links to your soundcloud stuff and thought it was really good. You should enter one of your originals each week into the open mic competition - I'm sure you will do really well.

"The World can be a better place if you be the change you want to see in the world" A short quote I was given by a friend :)

And Yeah I might just do that actually, I need the get back into singing :) Thanks!

Very sad song. I wish your life improves after taking these emotions out. Keep it up!

Yea, thanks buddy.

lol!!! I have started with disclaimers before I play now...something like...."even though this song is dark... I'm OK!!! Im really not that sad right now...it was a moment." People usually laugh. This guys comment wishing your life improves cracks me up!!!!

Fantastic jam buddy. Jam on! 🎵

Cheers mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52