OPEN MIC WEEK 38 - Just Look Up - An Original Song

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow Steemers. I thought I'd have a go at my very first open mic, organised by @luzcypher. I wrote this song after a good friend of mine died a couple of years back. It helped me to process my grief at the time. I've only showed this to a couple of people, but thought i'd share it with you on here. I really hope you like it.

Just Look Up

There's a star up above, that makes me think of you
And the light it seems to fall, in darkness and in blue

I hope we'll meet again
I'll wait, don't matter when
I'm going to think you for the rest of my days
I'll just look up, just look up, just look up
My friend

When I'm walking through a crowd, and in a strangers face I see you
When I'm scrolling through my phone, I see your picture there, with everyone
We always used to have a good time

I hope we'll meet again
I'll wait, don't matter when
I'm going to think you for the rest of my days
I'll just look up, just look up, just look up
My friend

If I could speak to you just one more time, I would thank you for being my friend
And thought the years will pass and time moves on
When I'm old and grey, and my memories fading
I'll just look up, just look up, just look up
I'll just look up, just look up, just look up

I'm going to think you for the rest of my days
I'll just look up, just look up, just look up
My friend
My friend

Sort:  

very nice dude!

Wow Man!!! superb lyrics. Keep them coming. Waiting for more.

Aw thanks, I really appreciate the feedback

very emotional! I like this.

Thanks honey.bee :)

This was great! one of my favorite so far <3

Thanks Kat I appreciate you taking the time to listen :)

Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic.

Thanks for hosting it. I hope you like my song

Great song. Well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74