Steemit Open Mic Week 49 Original song "Surf Mutant"

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Mega hurricane bearing down on us here in Florida so I am scrambling and in a haze of hectic tribulation... But I wanted to get a song out there for you guys and here it is! My original "Surf Mutant." Inspired by the deep sense of alienation I felt one time when I was far from the coast with no waves for hundreds of miles and no one who could possibly relate.

I'm a surf mutant...
NaCl and H2O
Science is right so to the beach I go
Enter the sea and once again mutate
Gills on my neck, man I'm feelin great
I'm a surf mutant...
Get on a surfboard it'll ruin your life
Pick up guitar, man it's a lifelong vice
Road to ruin I'm hotroddin'
What they call ruin, what they call sin
I'm a surf mutant...
The mutation's only gone so far
Least I can surf and play guitar
Maybe someday I can go all the way - -
A surf planet where I can stay
As a surf mutant...

Stay salty guys! I hope to see you next week if my guitar and I survive the hurricane and the monster waves it will surely bring...

PS I had a BLAST surfing the amateur longboard division at the National Kidney Foundation Surf Fest in Cocoa Beach last weekend. Awesome event, great times and I was SUPER STOKED to make it to the finals and get a cool trophy for 5th place. I was just amped to make it to the finals and get to surf next to some extremely talented competitors, some of the best from the area. Whatever wave it is that you want to ride in life, be it a dream you have or a goal you want to achieve, get out there and surf that wave!!!

Sort:  

Due to the hurricane situation and preparations I have to take care of I am likely to be off Steemit for a time so until I am able to get back on, please understand if I do not respond to any comments for awhile. Good luck and sending positive energy to everyone who may be affected by these hurricanes and tropical storms. As my grandfather Olen always advised, "THIS TOO SHALL PASS!"

From @samuraiz, Every post submitted to STEEM is voted upon by users. These votes help other users identify content that is worth their limited attention and bring significant value to the platform. Steem recognizes that sifting through the abundance of new submissions is work that deserves to be rewarded.

And the importance of this post I contribute with my humble effort and up vote, please follow me and up vote for my posts, I will follow every person making up vote for my posts

Thank you padmakshi!

Great song,I live in florida and will leave here this sunday,also love to surf,just back from California to see surf competition

Johnnyray, thanks so much my fellow surf Floridian! Good luck with the storm situation and stay safe with an extra dose of caution cause this hurricane looks like a record setting beast.

From @samuraiz, Every post submitted to STEEM is voted upon by users. These votes help other users identify content that is worth their limited attention and bring significant value to the platform. Steem recognizes that sifting through the abundance of new submissions is work that deserves to be rewarded.

And the importance of this post I contribute with my humble effort and up vote, please follow me and up vote for my posts, I will follow every person making up vote for my posts

Love it @billsurf "Surf Mutant!" Great job:)
I am a novice longboarder, but I pick up and ride a longboard when I was in Cocoa Beach a few years back :) Loved the vibe of the beach. I'll be back. I'm bringing my fiddle. We'll jam :)

Following and looking forward to more music
Cheers,
Bucky

Buckydurddle, thanks much! Let me know when you are back in town and we can ride some ocean waves and surf some sound waves.

Thanx Luzcypher and MEGATHANKS for all the work you do for Steemit OpenMIC! It is a great place to mutate.

LOL! I think I am getting fully mutated.

interesting.... Good Luck

Funnyquotes, much appreciated. I packed up my surf wagon and fled the coast. Got my fingers crossed for the many who ended up in a much worse situation with this deadly storm. Awful chaos, turmoil and destruction.

Hahaha. Awesome. "I'mma Suurf mutant". :D

"Thankyooooo Acedawnmyooooooozickkkk!" You might appreciate that when I went to break those strings I met more resistance than I expected. Then had an unusually hard time restringing the high string. Might have tweaked that tuner peg but I can't investigate it much right now cause I may need to take a little unexpected and unwanted non surf safari...

From @samuraiz, Every post submitted to STEEM is voted upon by users. These votes help other users identify content that is worth their limited attention and bring significant value to the platform. Steem recognizes that sifting through the abundance of new submissions is work that deserves to be rewarded.

And the importance of this post I contribute with my humble effort and up vote, please follow me and up vote for my posts, I will follow every person making up vote for my posts

Awesome dude. LOVE the "hair" too. Extra points for style.

Paulbmusic, thanks I have got to give props to my girl (cocktail queen "misshelelau" on Steemit) for helping me with styling the seaweed. Without her it would not have nearly as much volume or "bounce"! ;-)

Hahaha If you have anything in that video it is bounce and volume! #goteam

Hey Billy... im also a fellow Floridian, stay safe this weekend and keep rocking!

Meno, likewise Bro. Best of luck with the storm. Steemit Floridians rock!!

👏👏👏 Really Interesting and rather different intro there. Enjoyed your performance mate. Love the hairstyle and lighting. Great atmosphere you've got going wherever you recorded that. 👍 Thinking about you guys over there facing that nasty bastard of a hurricane. All the best for a good outcome.

Steelygeoff, many thanks for your kind words. I recorded that in my living room at my "surf ranch" hacienda. I got out of Florida successfully and am super thankful for that but so concerned about the many who are in great peril.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58216.77
ETH 3142.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23