Open Mic Week 34 - Serpent Dream

in #openmic7 years ago

Good Day Steemit , This is my entry into Open Mic Week 34 run by @luzcypher and with @pfunk helping out with some of the steem prizes.

This time I am playing some spanish themed guitar. A portion of it is from Mike Oldfield's Serpent Dream off of his Tubular Bells II album , and for the rest of the song I am just playing some spanish guitar improv.



Thanks for having a listen :)

Sort:  

So beautiful! I love the way it starts out slow and the tempo speeds up.. kinda a mysterious song I think.

It is yes ; and one of my favorite Oldfield songs. Not my best performance of the actual Serpent Dream part , but I still think it came out ok. Thanks for listening and leaving a comment :)

Fantastic!
Congrats
We want more covers

Cool ... thank you :) . And if I am playing guitar chances are it will be a cover or some variation on it. I have a few original songs on guitar , but not many. Although , the intro and end part of this is not really part of Oldfield's Serpent Dream , it's just me playing similar sounding things , that I thought kind of go with it.

Nice dude!... so many good entries this week! :D

Cool man ... thanks for that. I appreciate you stopping by and listening and leaving a comment, you definitely know your way around the guitar :) ... Hey and yeah .. I know what you mean , Open Mic has gotten way popular recently and it's bringing all the talented people out , not to mention the talented people they had already playing for open mic.

I agree with others, nice progression and momentum, I enjoyed the improv with the cover melody. Thanks for entering once again, and sharing your guitar prowess

Hey thanks @verbal-d , glad you enjoyed it. Not my best playing , a few bad notes in there in the beginning and hitting too many strings hahah , but it's all good ... I only winded up doing one take for this one. And thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment , I appreciate it :)

You're most welcome! I can relate, but we gotta keep improving no matter what.

Yes indeed. A bit of microcosm , macrocosm there ... as that can be applied to music and life :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59185.23
ETH 2319.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46