STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 78 - They - by Jem - cover by @bennettitalia

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

For the month of March, I've decided to try something a little different. Rather than focusing on songwriting and multi-instrumental production (backing vocals, second and lead guitars, drums, synths, etc.), I'm concentrating on performance. To this end, I won't be adding additional instruments or vocals to my performances this month***. I won't be using any software to edit my video sound at all, actually, although I will probably continue to edit the visuals in iMovie as I have been. Also, in the interest of focusing on performance, I'll be doing covers for the remainder of the month.

***LIES!!! All lies. In this case anyway. I did some stuff to my vocals. Aaaaand I put some lead guitar in there...

This week's entry is a cover of one of my favorite pop songs about... well secret government I think. Listen to the lyrics, and tell me what you think ;)

They

Who made up all the rules
We follow them like fools
Believe them to be true
Don't care to think them through
And I'm sorry, so sorry
I'm sorry it's like this
I'm sorry, so sorry
I'm sorry, we do this
And it's ironic too
'Coz what we tend to do
Is act on what they say
And then it is that way
And I'm sorry, so sorry
I'm sorry it's like this
I'm sorry, so sorry
I'm sorry, we do this
Who are they?
And where are they?
And how can they possibly
Know all this?
Who are they?
And where are they?
And how can they possibly
Know all this?
Do you see what I see?
Why do we live like this?
Is it because it's true
That ignorance is bliss?
Who are they?
And where are they?
And how do they
Know all this?
And I'm sorry, so sorry
I'm sorry it's like this
Do you see what I see?
Why do we live like this?
Is it because it's true
That ignorance is bliss?
And who are they?
And where are they?
And how can they
Know all this?
And I'm sorry, so sorry
I'm sorry we do this

Songwriters: Jem Griffiths / Gerard B. Jr. Young / Ward Lamar Swingle / Johann Sebastian Bach
They lyrics © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc, Universal Music Publishing Group, BMG Rights Management US, LLC

Performance © 2018 Bennett Italia All Rights Reserved

Want to listen to more Steemit Open Mic entries, or enter one of your own? Check it out at:
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-77-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Big thanks as always to @luzcypher, @pfunk, @meno, @passionground, @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @jessamynorchard, @krystle, you guys rock 🖤

IOW COLOR MAP.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bennettitalia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great cover. The name of the band that wrote it is escaping me ...

I think it was written by Jem and her band. She's a British pop singer from the late 90's/2000's. The original is beautiful, with lots of vocal overlays.

No this ... jem ..

this is an amazing song from a great album, very well covered man

Hey thank you @turtelproject! Glad you liked the performance :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I absolutely loved this. I love the acoustic guitaguitar and the message. We talk often about government corruption and dissolution of human rights these days in our conversations, with trepidation. Nice entry!

Thanks @wandrnrose7! I've always loved this song, but didn't realize what the lyrics were saying. When I heard the lyrics I decided to cover it :D

Good call! I enjoyed it a lot

Very cool rendition, Bennett... Nice, brother!

Many thanks, glad you enjoyed it @passion-ground!

:D thanks so much @gibber! I've been having fun with the electric guitar presets on garageband...

Excellent rendition, and thanks for introducing me to this song!

I'm sorry that I didn't see this in time to upvote it in time for payout, not that my upvote counts for much anyway, but I'll definitely be on the lookout for more of your posts.

We Chris Moore fans have to stick together. ;-)

HA! Yes. Surprising how many people I talk to haven't had the pleasure of laughing their faces off to a Christopher Moore novel...

Thank you :) Yeah I've always loved this one <3

Yeah, the lyrics bring to mind "Land of Confusion," by Genesis, along with "Sign O' the Times," by Prince.

And the latter song I might still not know, had it not been for Steven Wilson doing his cover version, which I fell in love with years ago.

If you're not familiar with Wilson, and his amazing and wide-ranging body of work, this video, of Wilson and his touring band covering the song the day after Prince's death, is a good tribute.

I've posted some of his work in the past which may interest you as well. In the twelve years I've been familiar with his work, my own skill as a songwriter has grown, and the one time I met him, I told him that it was because of his music that I began making music again, after a multi-year gap.

This, however, is a better overall introduction to his work, "Arriving Somewhere But Not Here," performed with his band Porcupine Tree, on the "Arriving Somewhere" DVD.

I've seen him live multiple times, with Porcupine Tree, Blackfield and solo, and he is far and away one of the best live performers I've ever seen.

Of course, he has more projects than most musicians have albums, and recently, he has been remixing the back-catalogues of some of the greatest prog bands of the 70s, including King Crimson, Jethro Tull, Camel, Caravan, Yes, and more. He has four Grammy nominations and counting for his 5:1 Surround mixes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48