STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 75 - Cut n' Pasted - an original song by @bennettitalia

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Fellow students at the Steemiversity of life! Hello. For the month of March, I've decided to try something a little different. Rather than focusing on songwriting and multi-instrumental production (backing vocals, second and lead guitars, drums, synths, etc.), I would like to focus exclusively on performance. To this end, I will not be adding additional instruments or vocals to my performances this month. I won't be using any software to edit my video sound at all, actually, although I will probably continue to edit the visuals in iMovie as I have been.

Also, in the interest of focusing on performance, I'll be performing covers for the rest of the month. So today's entry will be the last original posted for the month of March!

This song doesn't really have a title, as I've never been able to settle on one I really liked. The one I'm using for this post is provisional.

The sound quality on this recording may not be the best, and there's that one (very noticeable) mess up on the bridge, but I like the raw energy of this take. Enjoy :D

Cut n' Pasted

Every word we spoke
Was another word wasted
Each sentence was a ransom note
Each letter cut and pasted
Any hostage
Doomed right from the start

'Cuz when the voices in my head chimed in
They talk talk talked so loud
I had to shout just to try and get thru
And they still drowned me out
I think I've broken
I've broken my own heart

And I did it myself
All by myself
I believed the words the devil whispered in my ear
Well I thought
He had
My best interest at heart
But I forgot
He doesn't have a heart
At all

So what if I had stopped it?
What if I had kissed you?
What if I had simply laughed
At the way the devil dissed you
What if I had refused to be deceived?

Fighting someone else's war
Is a fool's undertaking
Too easy to take aim and fire
I wasn't really thinking
I was only breaking my own heart

And I did it myself
All by myself
I believed the things the devil whispered in my ear
Well I thought
He had
My best interest at heart
But I forgot
He doesn't have a heart
At all

Hey hey hey yeah

Oh if we could only start again I promise not to shoot
And if you promise not to lob grenades I found a parachute
You know there's more than one way off this plane

God only knows why the devil hates love
But it's either him or you and me
So can we call his bluff?
Sometimes the heart is smarter than the brain

And I did it myself
All by myself
I believed the things the devil whispered in my ear
Well I thought
He had
My best interest at heart
But I forgot
He doesn't have a heart
At all

Yeah I thought
He had
My best interest at heart
But I forgot
He doesn't have a heart
At all

©2018 Bennett Italia

Want to listen to more Steemit Open Mic entries, or enter one of your own? Check it out at:

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-75-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Big thanks as always to @luzcypher, @pfunk, @meno, @passionground, @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @jessamynorchard, @krystle, you guys rock 🖤

©2018 Bennett Italia

Sort:  

I always love your lyrics. Great song.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

So glad you liked it Luz! Lyrics are definitely a big part of my focus when writing 😊

So much energy! love it.

:D thanks man!

I enjoyed the video @bennettitalia. I will come back tomorrow when my steempower is up and upvote this post. I would also like to take this opportunity to invite you to be apart of the my new Steemit Collaboration Fiction series. I have a character for you if you are interested. You can communicate with me more on discover in my Tribe Here is your invite. https://discord.gg/KmEBvSH or you can contact me by email at [email protected]. Thank you for your consideration.

I would be honored to be part of this! Thank you for inviting me :) And so glad you liked the song @rensoul17. Songwriting was what I originally came to Steemit to do, but there are SO many things to do on here! I haven't written poetry for like 25 years, and I've never written fiction before, and suddenly not only am I writing all of these poems, I'm writing a serialized story in freewrite that l actually love... This place is an awesome catalyst for creativity, and the communities are amazing to interact with. So I'm looking forward, not only to pushing the envelope with fiction writing, but to getting to know the other writers in the process :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This is so beautiful. I am in this contest too. See you. Up vote!

Thank you @fafavasquez! Can't wait to check your performance out :)

You got a 2.43% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @bennettitalia!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

😊 Awwww.... thanks OH

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Haha I like the phrase in the chorus that ends like a hesitate whispering (all by myse-hehe-hehelf). It's fun. Greetings, @bennettitalia!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55