STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 69 - MY PET SPIDER - an original song by @bennettitalia

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello Open Mic!

Here is a song that could have multiple layers of meaning... or it might just be about a spider.

A word of warning: the video of this performance was marred by flashes of sunlight reflected off of my guitar. I did my best to make use of it with cut and paste effects, because I liked the performance, but anyone with epilepsy should probably not watch this video, just listen 😉

Also included is a "bonus track" I recorded, hope you enjoy it 😁

MY PET SPIDER

Today I
I killed my pet spider
They said she was dangerous

Oh but I
I still think she was kind of
Pretty what with

All those long black legs
And hourglass of red
All those long black legs
And hourglass of red
Now she's

She was
Graceful in her way
Though I wouldn't have wanted

To be
Tiny and entangled
In her soft silk threads

All those black legs
And hourglass of red
All those long black legs
And hourglass of red
Now she's

I took her to the road in front of our house
Upended her box and I shook her out
And she started to crawl away
She started to crawl away
She started
She started
To crawl

Oh God

Today I
I killed my pet spider
They said she was dangerous

Oh but I
I still think she was kind of
Pretty

All those long black legs
And hourglass of red
All those long black legs
And hourglass of red
Now she's

BONUS TRACK :

©2018 Bennett Italia

Want to listen to more Steemit Open Mic entries, or enter one of your own? Check it out at: https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-69-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Big thanks as always to @luzcypher, @pfunk, @meno, @passionground, @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @jessamynorchard, @krystle (I hope I'm remembering everyone!)

Sort:  

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Unique and interesting!

Very nice performance, I like your voice.

Thank you! Really glad you enjoyed it, I had a feeling you might just based on the name :D

Buenisimo hermano.. Gran expresión.. Excelente sonido.. Me gustó mucho!

Thank you Jose! Your opinion means a lot to me my friend, glad to hear you liked it :)

Nice performance man! Love the bittersweetness of it. Great song 👍 hope there's more to come

Thanks @raci! Yes, much more to come. Really enjoyed your Oasis cover this week btw, beautiful vocals :)

Okay so I've been swamped but finally got into the lyrics and song links room at The Isle of Write Discord server and holy shit @bennettitalia! Is this on iTunes because I want it! I'd stay and rave more, but you have a TON of others I still need to listen to!

WoW!!! thank you so much @jrhughes, I'm glad you like it :)

I don't have any recordings that are decent enough to post as standalone tracks at the moment, but it's in the works. When I do I'll be posting them on dsound first, will keep you in the loop :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46