Steemit Open Mic Songwriters' Challenge Week 8 - 'Til We Meet Again - FIND MY WAY TO YOU by @bennettitalia (©2018 Bennett Italia)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Well... I wanted to write a song having to do with reincarnation for this week's theme, and I did. FIND MY WAY TO YOU is about star crossed lovers who can't quite seem to get their timing right lifetime to lifetime.

I'm not gonna lie, this week was not easy. I'm traveling and didn't bring my usual recording setup, so had to record directly to the mic of my beloved but also ancient Macbook. The sound quality was not good, so I did what I could in Garageband to make it more listenable.

I wrote two songs this week, and both were difficult to arrange, learn, and play. One because it was just complicated, the other because... those fast Gypsy punk guitar stabs are waaaaaaaaaayyyy harder to play consistently than I realized. My hands just started spazzing out after the 4th take XD

So I'm posting two videos here. One (FIND MY WAY TO YOU) is my entry, the other ('TIL WE MEET AGAIN) is just for fun. If you like 'TIL WE MEET AGAIN and would like to give it its own upvote, I have also posted it in its' own post here: https://mspsteem.com/music/@bennettitalia/til-we-meet-again-an-original-song-by-bennettitalia-c-2018-bennett-italia

I'm so ridiculously grateful to get to be part of this competition, and of this community, what an incredible experience! I checked out all of the other entries last week and was blown away by the talent and artistry. You all are amazing :)

Many heartfelt thanks to those responsible for running this contest, and the open mic, you guys ROCK ❤

FIND MY WAY TO YOU

Here I stand on this planet gazing round at the insanity
It's more than I can take
It's all I can do to fake it baby

You and me have ancient history
You know I loved you then
Don't pretend you don't remember baby

You were arriving just as I was leaving
Gazes locked as bubbles burst
And I remember thinking as I was falling
I'm gonna find that girl on Earth

On Earth
On Earth
I'll find my way to you
Find my way to you
Find my way

So here we stand face to face our memories erased
We both can tell there's something going on
But can't quite put our fingers on it

All I know is there's something about you
That draws me like a magnet
No way to control it

You were arriving just as I was leaving
Fingers crossed as bubbles burst
And I remember thinking as I was falling
I'm gonna find that girl on Earth

On Earth
On Earth
I'll find my way to you
Find my way to you
Find my way

How many times have I had to say goodbye to you? I've lost count
Salt tears in the rain from the platform from the train we wave as it moves out
Riddled with doubt
Why can't I seem to catch up to
You when you're all I want to do?
How many times must we say goodbye before we get it right?
Maybe tonight

We'll be arriving at the same time
Just take my hand to break this curse
'CauseI remember thinking as I was falling
I'm gonna find that girl on Earth

On Earth
On Earth
I'll find my way to you
Find my way to you
Find my way

'TIL WE MEET AGAIN

'Til we meet again said the superheroine
To her arch-nemesis who blew her a kiss
And sped away
To dream up more mischief

'Til we meet again
'Til we meet again
In another life we might have been friends

'Til we meet again
'Til we meet again
To discover whether this is a beginning or an end

They say people never change but we don't care what they say
We hope for the best as we get undressed
And in the morning
Eyes wide open
We walk away

'Til we meet again
'Til we meet again
In another life we might have been friends

'Til we meet again
'Til we meet again
To discover whether this is a beginning or an end

You say you don't believe in ghosts so you don't hear them when they say
We were here tomorrow and we'll be here yesterday
You say you don't believe in ghosts so you don't hear them when they say
We were here tomorrow and we'll be here yesterday
And how many little deaths will it take?
How many laps 'round that fiery lake?
I need you I want you I won't let you go
Oh these are just things we say for show

Until we meet again
'Til we meet again
In another life we might have been friends

'Til we meet again
'Til we meet again
To discover whether this is a beginning or an end

You say you don't believe in ghosts so you don't hear them when they say
We were here tomorrow and we'll be here yesterday

©2018 Bennett Italia

Sort:  

Cool, man... Two for the price of one! Loved em' both, Bennett! You have a cool style, and you can clearly write some good songs! Great entry, and thanks for the bonus track too!

Thanks @passion-ground, really glad you liked them!

This week was a bit of a stretch... I had very little time to practice by the time I was done writing and arranging. I was only able to get one reasonably listenable take of each song - and the recording quality was still terrible - so it's good to know that I was able to pull them together enough to put them across.

I like the way this contest pushes the boundaries of what I would formerly have considered myself capable of. A deeply heartfelt thanks to you and to all of the judges <3 :)

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

This one is awesome! I can see it being played by Gogol Bordello or one of those crazy Eastern Euro bands.

I like the driving tempo. I would be dancing furiously in a concert situation.

Thanks Chris! Yes, this one made me bounce up and down when I listened back to it, could totally imagine dancing to it, with a wild Gypsy violin and bass and drums. It isn't often that I write a song that's danceable, so I loved that <3

Never again will I use this laptop mic to record tho... I had to do so much messing with the track to make it listenable that I miss the rawness of the direct-to-mic vocals.

I may end up re-recording both of the songs in this post when I get home, and editing them back in to the post, just to have some cleaner versions of them available here ;)

Glad you enjoyed it :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bennettitalia to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40