Steemit Open Mic Week 75 - Lowdown City (Original)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I want to start writing more. I figure the only way to do that is to do it. So here is my first attempt at songwriting in a while. I plan on doing more and posting on here so that I can look back at these videos and hopefully see some progression in my songwriting both lyrically and musically.

Sometimes I go out walking

Don't know where I'm going to

Sometimes I go out walking

Don’t know where I'm going to

I'm walking through lowdown city

Mama what am I to do?

Lord knows everybody

Has a little hard luck sometimes

Lord knows everybody

Has a little hard luck sometimes

But lemme ask you this one question

That I can't get off my mind

If the whistle on the steam train

Blowed a thousand hours long,

Would that be enough time baby

For me to fix what I've done wrong?

Lord knows

I've done the best that I could

Lord Knows

I've done the best that I could

Now I'm lost in lowdown city

But otherwise I'm doing good

Sort:  

loved it!!!ur forgiven for the harmonica ;) great tune swag on the vocal

I'm a longtime harmonica player, and fan of anyone who plays.. I very much enjoyed your playing and I'd love to see more videos of you playing it. Sorry I'm commenting so much on your videos I just am really enjoying them and there's nobody in my house to talk to.

No need to apologize haha. I like comments. Do you have any videos on here that you play harmonica in? I'd love to hear it. I love the harmonica too, it's definitely one of my favorite sounding instruments. It's deceptively difficult to play too.

Style points ;) (consider: never start a song with an apology)

Thanks, that's a good tip. I didn't like the intro of this video very much but I didn't want to record it again just for that. I already had to record a couple of times because I kept messing up the harmonica lol

I like the intro it's adorable

Nice song. Keep spirit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54