Steemit Open Mic Week 59- Original song "The Ballad of An Immigrant"

in #openmic7 years ago

LYRICS:
I searched for days and days for a place where I could rest
in the dry and lonely badlands of this country in the west.
I felt so goddamn hungry, my ribs poked through my sides
when there came along a stranger who offered me a ride.
The man said he had some land just a few miles down the road
and a place for me to crash if it'd help me ease my load.
So i told him I was grateful and I hopped up in his truck
thinking this might be the end of my streak of rotten luck.

But as we drove on down the street, our eyes they didnt meet,
til I spoke some words that struck him as uncommon and offbeat.
I told him that I came from a place that's far away,
where the days are dark as night and the nights are light as day;
then he turned his head and looked with a face of cold dismay
and kicked me out onto the street and he drove off on his way

So if you ever go and roam in a foreign unknown land
regard this stories lesson and be sure that you understand;
you need to watch the words you say and who you say them to
or somone out there someday will make sure that you do.

Sort:  

Congratulations @beeflomein! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice song, Bee! Loved the whistling and harmonica too! Very nicely done, friend! The ending guitar run was also quite nice... I'm impressed!

okay im sold. this is fantastic my friend great song amazing lyrics built like in an incredible sound story, very great flavor your vocals add, and i love your playing there is a swag to you very nicely done... the harmonica is a treat here... tops

Thanks a lot! I haven't played this anywhere but on here before so the positive feedback is really reassuring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42