OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 8 - Austen Ballard

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Week 8 - 'Till We Meet Again' (lyrics below)

"Is it over?"

Writing 8 songs in 8 weeks for this challenge has been a fun little challenge, and it's been really great seeing all the talent here in the Steemit music community! I'm hugely grateful to @meno and @luzcypher for their hard work putting this competition together, and for @passion-ground and @krystle for judging this in addition to the regular Open Mic. The dedication that you all have to making Steemit a great place for musicians is beyond commendable.

Click here to see this week's entries in the Open Mic Songwriters Challenge!

I guess that's it for the Songwriters' Challenge! This week was especially fun for me to write. I hope you enjoyed it. Major shout out to my girlfriend and her cats for letting me record this in her basement.

Lyrics

I can’t believe it’s come to this I really should have known
With all your broken promises and every shot you’ve blown

But I guess I’ve learned my lesson now, I guess it’s just as well
So till we meet again my friend, go f#ck yourself

I’m so glad that I don’t have to see you anymore
You always make me feel so bad and god you’re such a bore

Thank god I’ve learned my lesson now, I guess it’s just as well
So til we meet again my friend, go f%ck yourself

I dont know how I ever thought that you would be
Someone I could put my trust in so complete-ah-ly
You think its funny that you’re always such a total mess
You owe me money, candy, liquor and a cocktail dress

But I’ve really learned my lesson now, so long and fare thee well
Yeah till we meet again my friend

Go f&ck yourself!

Yeah I could wait forever till we meet again
Go f!Ck yourself



Thanks for listening! Leave a comment if you liked my song :)



austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com

austenballard.com

Sort:  

haha! thats great! Just the refresher I needed :) Great job Austen

Thanks! :)

Love the lyrics. I've really enjoyed your songs and hope you keep playing for us in the weekly Open Mic contest.

Thanks! I’m sure you haven’t seen the last of me, don’t worry.

Thanks! :)

hahaha That was surely entertaining! Great performance 😊

Thanks 😊😊 I’m so glad you liked it!

Haha brilliant! I was feeling worried that I had made my song this week too bittersweet, but man you trumped it. I did not expect the punk chorus!

I like to keep things interesting 😛 I’ll be sure to listen to your song, too.

I laughed so hard. We have similar topics this week but yours is light years better. Amazing.

😊😊 thanks so much. I’ll be sure to give yours a listen!

This was great, Austen! Before I even hit play I began to smile reading the lyrics... Well, needless to say, I enjoyed this very much, and you got quite a few chuckles out of me in the process!

You did exceptionally well all throughout this challenge, and I'll be following you and your music wherever you go! Thanks, my New Canaan Brother!

Thanks dude 🤘🏼 The whole challenge has been loads of fun. I really appreciate the love you’ve shown for my songs 😊

Haha nice! That was a great intro and set up! Love a good fuck you song!

😎 thanks dude, it was fun to write too.

THAT WAS AMAZING!! I FREAKING LOVE YOU!!! <3 Austen!!! you rock!!.
i have been trying to think.,, because you remind me of someone else.. but i finally realized who!!! your sound kind of reminds me of The All American Rejects! i don´t know if you like them... but you should definitely take it as a compliment! since i LOVE THEM! haha.

I got the feeling that you will win the guitar.. its either you or @basilmarples .. you both did amazing!! i admire the both of you so much!

Aw thank you so much! <3 it's so funny that you say the All American Rejects. They were my favourite band growing up. their first album and Move Along I listened to I don't know how many times. Them, Green Day and then of course the Beatles, Nirvana, etc.

Haha I don't know, there have been some really impressive entries. I wouldn't put my odds above anyone else.

You got a 0.89% upvote from @upme requested by: @alprazo.lamb.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80