STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 77- I Was a Good Man (ORIGINAL)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hey Everybody. I'm finally back for some more Open Mic action. I woke up yesterday and started writing this song about a homeless veteran who's story really hit me right in the feels. I'm not sure why I woke up thinking about him, but I had the overwhelming urge to pick up my guitar and start telling his story.

Something about this song really takes me to another place literally. It feels like my body falls asleep when I play this song. When I stop playing this and open my eyes my entire body tingles all over and I feel much lighter. Definitely feels like a trance state. It was hard not to get choked up while recording this.

Lyrics

Verse

Hey there Stranger
I hope you're well today
I'm not sure why you'd want to hear my story

But here are some crumbs
That I've been saving all week
And I'll share my story with you if you'll share this meal with me

I've been beggin'
Been beggin' for a change
To get me a meal, to get me up out of the rain

Chorus Like Thing

The man you see before you today
Is just the shell of a man long since passed away
away, away

Verse

I was a good man
Worked my fingers to the bone
To provide for my wife and our child in our happy home

But my wife hung herself in grief
When our boy died in the war
Oh and she blamed it all on me
Said she couldn't take anymore
Of it all in her face
When she looked at my face
And now they're gone

Chorus Like Thing 2

Now they're gone
And I found Hell
Please take me back to the war and let me die there
Let me die there
This was my first thought
My first thought, My first thought

Verse

When I was a boy
Just the age 13
I had myself one of those naive dreams
That we were one
We were one

But they turned me into a killing machine
And I led my boy to war out of his respect for me
And now he's gone, now he's gone

Well they sell the boys to war out of patriotic destiny
And when they come back if they come back at all ain't much left to see
Oh oh no

I been begging
Begging for change
Just not the kind you think
It's the kind where things ain't the same
Oh not the same

I been begging
Begging for change
Just not the kind you think
It's the kind where things ain't the same
Oh not the same

I was a good man
Worked my fingers to the bone
To provide for my wife and our child in our happy home

But my wife hung herself in grief
When our boy died in the war
Oh and she blamed it all on me
Said she couldn't take anymore
Of it all in her face
When she looked at my face
And now they're gone

Sort:  

ooo man this was awesome love how you go into this the vocal is fantastic feelin it... grit

I resteemed that. Hit the heart. Spot on. That was impressive... and tragic.

Thank you for the support and the compliment.

This is so powerful. I honestly wasn't expecting this. You have completely channeled another person, you seriously are possessed while you are playing this and I mean this in the most awesome way, I felt like I was watching a shaman in a trance. A shaman in a trance who was pulling an evil spirit into his body, pulling a sickness out.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Thank you @carlgnash. I have never had a song take me over quite that way before.

It's funny that you mentioned pulling a sickness out. I have been in a funk the past couple weeks, and after writing and recording this song I feel much better.

Music is so healing.

I feel honored to be nominated, and yes you can quote and use the material in this post.

Thanks for your support buddy.

Very cool song and performance.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks for the compliment and again thanks for putting on the open mic.

Very Emotional. I like emotional kind of stuff. keep it up!. Keep rocking.!

Cool tune and great post as always

Thanks for your ongoing support @thatdamiguy

That was a very compelling performance!

Lots of storytelling into it. It is sort of tragic though. We must never judge the homeless, the broken, we do not know what is behind.

That's true. We can never realy know what another goes through

I feel the passion here brother! you push it to the next level of trance a state!

Thanks buddy. There might be more passion than music in this one. My neighbor asked if there was a murder in my apartment when I was recording.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68