STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 72- Love Yourself (ORIGINAL MUSIC)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey Steemit Family. Here is my entry for this week's Open Mic.

This song is still a work in progress. I started writing it last night, but didn't really get to finish or refine it. I need to take a break from music for a couple weeks. I injured my hand, and playing guitar is just making it worse. So I decided to go ahead and just record this as is.

It looks like I am just going to be an Open Mic Spectator for a couple of weeks. So I hope you enjoy this song, because I might not post another until March. I'll see how this hand heals up. :)

 

Lyrics


Verse 1


Oh what's the hold up now

What's got everybody so slowed down

Got me turning around

Got me turning around

 

I'm sitting impatiently

Tapping my foot at light speed

And I notice a girl with eyes of beautiful green

 

She sort of snickered at me

Said do you love anything

Well I love myself, and I could love yourself

 

She said that's not what I mean

Tell me of some hopeless thing

That you love more than you love yourself

 

Chorus


Well I love to hope, and I love to dream

These have been and always will be my favorite things

Until they steal my mind or 'til they bury me

 

Verse 2


Society is singing lullabies

Put you to sleep so they can steal your mind

How can you love yourself if you don't know yourself

 

Oh can you feel the chains

Hold you back, hold you in your place

Well I know myself, but I don't know my place

 

They ain't ever gonna open their eyes

I'm hurt, but I ain't surprised

Look at how they hide from themselves

 

I ain't ever gonna change my mind

That's how you sound all the time

Now you're operating blind

 

I speak, you say okay

You speak, I say okay

But we never really heard

You never really heard a word said

 

Why do we speak this way

Why do we speak this way

Where we never really ever really ever get a damn word said

 

They say I'm living up in the clouds

I say I ain't gonna ever come down

Because I love myself; that's why I love myself

 

Chorus


Well I love to hope, and I love to dream

These have been and always will be my favorite things

Until they steal my mind or 'til they bury me

 

Verse 3


You tried to burn me out

Outta my own damn house

And I love myself

That's why I won't ever speak your name

 

Oh how the Universe cries

She's been hurting way down inside

She loves herself, and I love nothing else

Chorus


Well I love to hope, and I love to dream

These have been and always will be my favorite things

Until they steal my mind or 'til they bury me

 

Sort:  

Loved this one, Art! Nice, brother!

Thanks passion. I'm excited to work on this one some more once my hand heals up

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Hope your hand gets better soon.

Thanks buddy! :)

I am in love with your vocal swag my friend

Thank you so much. Your kind words have been fueling creativity since my first open mic post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69345.70
ETH 3342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74