Steemit Open Mic Week 122 / "Free" (Cover Dedicated to Venezuela)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)



Happy week for the whole community that lives in the Open Mic contest! Many who follow my work through this platform already know that I am Venezuelan, and they must also be aware that this has been a crucial week for my country. For this reason I have decided to participate with a song that tells a true story.

This code that I want to dedicate to Venezuela is original of the Spanish interpreter Nino Bravo, entitled Libre, and he recorded it in 1972. In it he tells us about the dream of the young Peter Fechter, who in life yearned to cross the Berlin wall and savor the freedom for the first time.

The story of this famous wall of shame tells that Peter, along with his friend Helmut Kulbeik planned for a long time to escape from the side of the city where they lived and jump the wall, however, the day they finally risked were visualized by the soldiers who watched the wall and shot them. His friend was able to cross this barrier to freedom, but Peter was mortally wounded in the attempt.

Even so, this young man had the short happiness of breathing the air of the democratic side of Berlin, since when he fell to the ground he did it in an area that was known as no man's land. Peter did not die instantly, but none of the guards on either side of the wall came to help him out of fear of being attacked by the other side.

It was not until 50 long minutes that he gradually bled to death that a soldier from the Democratic Republic of Germany approached him and took him to help him, but it was too late and he died a few minutes later, but I am sure that in his agony he was happy, because he died "Free".


Free


He's almost twenty years old and he's already
Tired of dreaming,
But behind the border is your home,
Your world, your city.
Think that the fence is only
A piece of metal,
Something that can never stop
Your desire to fly.

Free,
Like the sun when it dawns,
I am free like the sea
Free,
Like the bird that escaped from his prison
And it can, finally, fly
Free,
Like the wind that gathers my lament
And my regret,
Road without ceasing
Behind the truth
And I will know what it is in the end, freedom.

With his love for flags he left
Singing a song,
He was so happy he did not listen
The voice that called him,
And lying on the ground he stayed
Smiling and without speaking,
Crimson flowers on his chest,
They sprouted incessantly.

Free,
Like the sun when it dawns,
I am free like the sea
Free,
Like the bird that escaped from his prison
And it can, finally, fly
Free,
Like the wind that gathers my lament
And my regret,
Road without ceasing
Behind the truth
And I will know what it is in the end, freedom.

Free,
Like the sun when it dawns,
I am free like the sea
Free,
Like the bird that escaped from his prison
And it can, finally, fly
Free,
Like the wind that gathers my lament
And my regret,
Road without ceasing
Behind the truth
And I will know what it is in the end, freedom.

Composers: Marcello Luiz Azevedo / F. Estefano Salgado
Free lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

981b258249808c9b9a2d09de5da7b522.0.png


It is inevitable for me to identify with this story, for I was born in Venezuela, in a free, prosperous and promising land, which has been kidnapped for more than 20 years and I have seen how they have been assassinated stabbing after stabbing, but this year 2019 It has brought with it a beautiful breeze of hope with the smell of freedom that makes me feel that it is resurging from the ashes. I know it will not be easy, and I do not know how long this transition lasts; all I know is that I hope life and the will to reach my Venezuela "Libre" will reach me.

Thanks to all the people who have taken some time to read this post and listen to my version of this song. The video and photographic images were captured with a Samsung Galaxy S5 Neo and edited with the Vimady 2018 and PhotoDirector 2018 aplocations. I send a special greeting to the user @luzcypher who is in charge of keeping this prestigious contest alive and I look forward to the next one week for a new Open Mic!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://armandolnrs.000webhostapp.com/2019/02/steemit-open-mic-week-122-free-cover-dedicated-to-venezuela
Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67