Open Mic Songwriter's Challenge Week #4 - Just Because We Can

in #openmic7 years ago

Hi again. Here's my second attempt at the songwriting challenge. I have a cold and feel like garbage and my voice is not awesome, but I still wanted to submit a song this week because I'm really enjoying the challenge so I did my best. It's all about those lousy friends who seem to be rooting for you but then once you start to succeed they don't like it and try to bring you down. But at least I'm not bitter. ;) Enjoy!

Sort:  
Loading...

This a great entry, Annie - thank you!

Thank you back - I appreciate it! :)

Good to see you back @anniemacleod! What a beautiful voice you have and I love the song. Good job.

So what do you think of the Steemit community so far?

Thanks! If I ever get over this annoying cold I'm hoping to show off a little bit more, vocally. lol I haven't had a chance to venture too far out of the songwriting competition yet so I'm still figuring this site out but I'm loving the supportive atmosphere so far and this competition is really great - I've never written two songs in two weeks in my life!

Such a neat little song! Its not sad to me, it just reminds me that the journey isn't smooth and people can't always stick with you. The trick is to love those people for helping you when you needed it, but then remember to look around and see what part of life is embracing you NOW. Steemit openmic for example? haha
You have a lovely voice and you're a really good songwriter too! x

love those people for helping you when you needed it, but then remember to look around and see what part of life is embracing you NOW

You are wise beyond your years.

Thanks so much! That's great advice. I try not to stew in bitterness or anything but I definitely have my moments lol. Writing songs is great for getting some of that out.

So beautiful, I would love if you could post the lyrics alongside as I enjoy reading through them, it makes it easier to see how you did it, rhymes and all, cause I'm still learning! :)

Thanks a lot! I posted the lyrics below - not sure about the best way to do that...maybe just in my original post next time.

What a sweet song! Good luck in the competition. I hope to enter some day soon!

Thank you. You really should! I wasn't too sure if I could write a song the first week and now I've written two and it's a lot of fun! You'll probably surprise yourself if you try, and even if you don't end up with a song you like right away it really gets the creativity flowing.

Your voice is so clear and deep. I'm impressed with the melody of your voice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47