Open Mic Week 37 - We Can But Hope (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I'm guessing there aren't many recent songs exploring the effects of hyperinflation, but what better place for one than Steemit? Since cryptocurrencies are going to save us! ;)

I hope you like it!

We Can But Hope
The future we dread leads us both back to bed once again
It's hard to pretend this is not happening when you know

Will the winners take it all?
Can you and I remain aboard?
Whilst everybody floats in a sea of old notes with no value at all

As the winter sets in, will the fighting begin in the snow?
Which books may we burn and which leaves might we need? I just don't know!

Will the winners take it all?
Can you and I remain aboard?
Will everybody try just to get by? Well we can but hope.

The absence of bread sends us both back to bed once again
It's hard to pretend this is not happening when you're stone cold

Will this winter take us all?
Can you and I remain aboard?
As everybody floats in a sea of old notes with no value at all

Sort:  

I really enjoyed last weeks entry and you have done it again. Great style Brother.

Thanks mate!

Your quite welcome

Well done!

I like this one! A "sea of old notes" is a good term.

Yeah, I realise that it probably wouldn't actually be notes these days, but it's more poetic ;)

Oooh I love your guitar playing. Wish mine sounded that good lol
Following :)

Thanks. I wish I could play the piano as well as you! Most of my favourite songwriters are primarily pianists and not guitarists.

Nice but guitar volume is sometimes killing your voice. I had to look at lyrics in some parts of the song. Sounded cleaner last time...

Yeah, I think you're right. I couldn't sing loud enough to compete with the strumming! Will probably try and do it with a separate mic next time. Thanks for the feedback!

Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic

Thanks for hosting it!

Up-voted, re-steemed and followed.
@Volcalists-Trail supports vocalists on Steemit
Follow back for updates over the coming weeks about opportunities to engage with other vocalists in competitions and events to win rewards! :D

key change, exquisite .... thank you

Thanks.

SHA256: 21204390a4d7c8ea8a68d263fb9994f98cacfafc8f23ac993fc4bfdeac0aafb5

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46