openmic jazz jam tracks!

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

www.andrewmarkmusic.com i-ii-v-i-vi comp track 

Hey, Steemit.com...I'm posting these backing tracks as something you might want to practice to. It's intended especially for the openmic community for those who may be interested in jazz. Play along and do a video of your soloing. If you post backing tracks I'll jam to yours and post, too. Here are the chords: C-major--F-minor--Bflat7-G7....I also use the tritone.. sub-Csharp 13... You can think C-sharp Lydian dominant over that (Aflat melodic minor). Again, if you like, post your backing tracks and I'll jam along and post in the open mic of us jamming!

Here is a sample and I wouldn't be offended if you come up with something better than what i've done. The thing with jazz soloing is it's better to play off the arpeggios of each chord change. This takes a lot of practice! I'm starting to get it here. Towards the end I do use the tonic major (C) and then use modal interchange by using the C-minor scale. This works because the iv chord is ii of Eflat major.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Here is a modal backing track in C . Start in C major and then play Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, Locrian
, and voila! Your back home!

And here is what the modes sound like:

It should be noted that I don't consider myself a jazz player but i've loved jazz since I was a kid and had dreams of becoming good one day. That hasn't really happened yet but it's slowing getting better! 

Cheers! And please note that this isn't a part of the weekly songwriting contest.


Sort:  

I remember this movie called 'whiplash' lol. You have my 100% upvote.

I'm your biggest fan! lol....
Oh, cool, I will have to watch that... It was in jazz school 30 years ago where I learned about my incredible deficiencies as a musician...
Having said that, I'm happy with the modal takes but I'll do the one I did today over again...

I'm just a groupie here lol. I'm still shy to post my uke vid.

Understandable, especially if you're rusty from lack of practice. I look forward to listening nevertheless:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80