Open Mic Week 8 - "Pearl" - Original Song by Andy Loughney

in #openmic8 years ago

Hello Steemians, I'm back for Week 8 with an original song titled "Pearl".  I wrote this one a few years ago and it's probably my most developed and rehearsed original song. I entered a version of it in the NPR Tiny Desk Contest a couple years ago (didn't win) and it's been a staple of my few live performances.

I've been enjoying listening to the music posted by you other folks on this site.  Thanks to all the musicians for your contributions and to the hosts for running the show.

I hope that all of you who celebrate Thanksgiving have a thoughtful one and I hope that you will send some extra love/prayers/vibrations to the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe and their supporters if you believe that clean drinking water is more important than gas.

LYRICS

Well I been down so long

can't hardly see

just what the skies might paint for me

ohhhhh, my misgivings


So when I say so long

don't follow me

forgive my love, no saint i'll be

ohhhh, tough living


Somewhere in your soul

i know the truth's already known

picking up the pieces

of our torn and battered home

think i'll just take a walk outside

and move

my weary bones


Well I been down so long

i can't recall

my dreams of feeling one with all

ohhhhh, thick skinnin'


And what is good for me's

not good at all

this temperamental curtain call

ohhhhhh, i ain't grinnin


Somewhere in your soul

you know the truth will set you free

piecing back together

what it is and what will be

think i'll just stay inside today

and rest

my aching bones


From my window to the world

i can see your systems swirl

that faraway look

like an open book

reveals a distant


Pearl within the shell

maybe one day live to tell

retribution tales

it never fails

to pull one off the shelf


Retribution tales

it never fails

to pull one off the shelf

______________________


Sort:  

I particularly loved the structure! It's not the same old verse-chorus etc etc, but really sophisticated, thoughtful and well paced - it played like a journey. That's how music should be. Great work!

Hey, really appreciate your constructive comments! Thank you!

This is that funk! Loving the soulful vibrations in your performance. That guitar is euphoric. My favorite Open Mic performance so far.

And word up for the standing rock shout out. Jah bless all those fighting for mother earth!

Gifting the world with your script! Just checked out your entry, love the flow and your wordplay man, really nice. Upvoting and following now. And yes, so much love for those taking a stand...trying to do so in my own way here...

That was fantastic!!!

Muchas gracias

The guitar playing really pulls me in, and the vocals are a nice storytelling breeze of soulful lyrics. When people play with conviction, passion and purpose, the best moments are created to be shared. I thoroughly enjoyed your composition. So many facets of emotions and vibes like a glistening gem under sun eclipsed light. Best of luck to your entry, thanks for participating and sharing. PS, for future entries, please do not forget to say Open Mic Wk #...whichever week it is That will help to make your entry more valid and show you actually recorded it fresh and new for the judges deciding the winners. Upvoted

Aw, man, thanks so much. I really appreciate the kind words and I'm just happy to be putting some of my stuff out there beyond my little bubble. Been on Steemit for a few weeks now and really enjoying the community. Oh, and I did say Open mic week 8 at the beginning of my video...not sure if you missed it or were just reminding me for the future. If I had to guess, tho, I would say that you hit "play" and then put your headphones on your ears about 7 seconds later! Peace @verbal-d

I definitely missed it, lol just consider it a kind reminder lol no harsh tones here but yeah I look forward to more future music pieces from you. And I'm glad you have joined the Steemit community. Everyone is really supportive here

I appreciate it. Been talking up the community a bunch. I'm really curious to see where it could possibly go, maybe even moreso because I'm new to social media after resisting the whole facebook scene. This just feels like a cool place to explore and share. No harsh tones for sure man! Looking forward to more of your stuff too. Lots of entries this week, crazy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69