Steemit Open Mic Week 45 - "How To Boil An Egg" (cover) performed by Andy LoughneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!

This song by Courtney Barnett popped up recently on my iTunes "New from your artists" and I said, "Well, she's not mine alone, I suppose, but there certainly is some metaphysical sandwich where we do meet."  I hope you enjoy my version of this song by one of my favorite artists out there right now.


Sort:  

Hey @anarchrysalis nice use of the loop pedal!

I mentioned that I'd swing by and suggest some ways of improving the sound production for you and I guess it really depends on which way you record video.

If it's on an iphone, you might benefit from the itrack Pocket like I've got - you can plug your jack straight in and there is some basic amp modelling (though unlikely to be anyone's 'go-to' sound) but I think this would be the easiest option.

Alternatively if you're using either an iPhone, android phone or a computer to record, you might find a simple 2 input mixer useful. You could point one mic at your amp and second one at your face - if you point the amp away from the direction of the vocal mic you should get a clean vocal. You can then use an app or video software that will allow you to add the 'room' in later with reverb. Either a USB model or, if you've already got a mixer like that, an audio cable that runs into USB - your device should allow this as the audio input source.

Alternatively, as a no-cost option, you could turn down the amp, move it closer to your recording device & drop the vocal mic. That way you're eliminating as much noise amplification as possible.

I think either of these ways would be beneficial but obviously dependent on budget & time. Sorry for the long comment but I hope that you find it useful.

No need to apologize for a thoughtful, comprehensive response @elliotjgardner! I appreciate it greatly and will look into it. I've been looking at a good all-purpose mic that a friend who runs a studio recommended.

And what did you use for video?

Reminiscent of my “CBGB” days… Never heard this tune – but nonetheless, I can still appreciate it for what it is… Yeah, we can all use a brand new start every now and again – and for the record, I prefer my eggs scrambled just the same… Great job man – I really dug it – through and through!

Yessir, super punk. I like my eggs scrambled too and if they're hard boiled, deviled is the way to go. Thanks for your kind words!

Great job

Beautiful, I really liked that jam out at the end <3 <3 <3

You love my fade out jams! Thanks Lyndsay!

I TRULY DO!! :) :) :)

yessir! Grown so much since my first entry week 7...talking about this contest and myself!

Congratulations @anarchrysalis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Love that guitar sound!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70858.50
ETH 3796.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44