Open mic week 64 cover of "The Breakup Song"

in #openmic7 years ago

Hello, steemians, and welcome to da studio, eh!

This is my entry for open mic week 64. This is a cover of "The Breakup Song" by the Greg Kihn Band.

I recorded the guitar track on my reel to reel deck, and then played to that. This was more difficult than I expected it to be because of the stops in the chorus. With no drum track, the timing was tricky and I didn't always hit it right. I did a bunch of takes trying to get it right, and this take was about the best one that I got.
I need to get a cheap drum machine to use for this kind of performance.

text divider.png

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my performance!

Check out the shows on MSP Waves on the PALnet. They have a show, "Steemit Musicians", that covers the judges choices for the open mic contest.

msp-waves2.gif

Sort:  

YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!! you rock this was amazing praise for days

Nice!!! Love that song!!!

I Love that song.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Excellent cover! Reel to reel tape player, awesome bass, on point vocals. Good stuff :)

that's perfect @amberyooper , this is the second time Im listening to it :))) really loved it!! you have a great vocal!! and playing that bass so perfect

Great cover, @amberyooper! You and Mr. Teac make a fine duo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29