Steemit Open Mic. Week 136. Something instrumental

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

Good day, people.

This is my second contribution to Open Mic.

Today I present you…
…yeah, the problem here is that I don’t remember the title of the composition I’m playing above! ) (I hope it’s not against the rules of the Open Mic contest).
If someone (on the face of the Earth; this is very important) could tell me the correct title for this composition (providing evidence and being the first one; actually I seriously doubt that someone would even try it), I’d delegate 50 SP to that person for one half of a year.
I’ve tried to figured out that with Google help and the help of services which help you to detect the title of the compositions by uploading sound files or singing to microphone. Nothing helped.

How did that happen?
I learned it a long time ago. And I haven’t been playing guitar for years.
I just recently began to try to remember what I knew.
So, if I don’t even know the title, then (obviously) I can’t tell you anything about it. And I don’t have the notes for it.
That’s why (and also because I’m a biologist by nature) in this little post I’d like to focus on the process of remembering something.
It took two days to remember this composition.

I remember. I remember everything.
[Jason Bourne, “The Bourne Ultimatum”, 2007; The End scene]
; )

I’m sure that musicians would understand me, if I say that when you’re playing something you know then your fingers are kind of “remembering” the composition and are playing sort of independently of you ---> muscle memory <---

Muscle memory is a form of procedural memory that involves consolidating a specific motor task into memory through repetition, which has been used synonymously with motor learning.
Wikipedia

Music memory is a type of muscle memory.

brain-1845940_1280.jpg

image source - pixabay

Instead of annoying you with scientific info, I’d like to share some of my own observations, which are:

  • To remember the composition (you wanna remember), you need to forget about it!
    Just say to yourself that you need to remember it and go to do something else (which is not related to music), for ex. go to train to stadium. Then try to play that composition, and you’ll (most likely) will be able to remember an additional piece of it. Each time you repeat this cycle (asking yourself to remember the composition –> doing something non-music related –> playing the instrument trying to remember what you need) you’ll (most likely) will be able to remember an additional portion of that composition, until you remember all of it. That’s what happened with me. For more info - > “Brainchains: Your Thinking Brain Explained In Simple Terms.” by Theo Compernolle.

  • It’s useful to train playing in noisy and quiet places, so that you could be ready for any situation.
    Playing for yourself and for audience are two different things. When nothing disturbs you, then you play kind of subconsciously/without thinking. But once unusual stimulus are introduced (like saying “Steemit Open Mic. Week 136…” or unusual/unfamiliar audience), your awareness comes back and interferes with your playing, so that you play not automatically, but rather consciously. And that “consciously” might lead you into troubles. It’s cool if you can imagine something (a picture (maybe in dynamics)) while playing, and when you’re playing in unusual situation (or when unusual stimuli are introduced) that picture might help you to stay in subconscious state (playing automatically good (as you play when nothing disturbs you for yourself)).

Happy remembering!

Thanks to all the people who help to organize Open Mic contest )

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44