STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 79 - LIPS OF SHERRY (ORIGINAL SONG BY ACOUSTICSTEVEO & TURNER SHADDON)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


My brother and I wrote this song a number of years ago. He started jamming the guitar lick, I grabbed a book of poetry of mine that I had laying around, and we created the song from a poem called The Blue Beyond.

Lyrics

Vrs 1
Of the docker I have dwelt
Upon the shores of all our mothers
Where water weary seagulls trape
Over waves of endless sound.
Nighttime bides her squalor well
With knots of vanity in hair
Until the shoreline wakes a jolting
Formless entities impair.

Chorus
The seaboard life is all but merry
When to plank your last goodbye–
Lingering on lips of sherry
Beckoning wearily to sky.

Vrs 2
I the crewman here am homeless;
Except upon the ocean’s bones
Into blackness I will wander
Only for my own to own.
Often women try to tame me
Turn my head and eyes away
But the blowing tempest named me
Unto her I’ll always be.

Chorus
The seaboard life is all but merry
When to plank your last goodbye–
Lingering on lips of sherry
Beckoning wearily to sky.

Bridge
Never too long (feet on dirt),
Stomach lurching at the sea
A wild race from port to stern
The blue beyond is calling me.

Chorus
The seaboard life is all but merry
When to plank your last goodbye–
Lingering on lips of sherry
Beckoning wearily to sky.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Good job man!

So different to my first exposure to your work Trick or treat, which I utterly loved.

Bob Dylan meets They might be Giants meets standup comedy.

This has a far more melancholy feel and your lyric choices are interesting and engaging.

Thankyou for creating, sharing and giving :)

Thank you for your insightful comment. I write a lot of different types of stuff. 😎

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thank you for listening. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73