STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 84 - AMBULANCE BLUES (ORIGINAL SONG BY STEPHEN MARTIN)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I wrote this song about two months before I found out I have a disease called aplastic anemia (a rare blood disorder where my immune system was eating my bone marrow) and it was actually ironic because I never thought about illness, let alone wrote anything about it. Let's just say it was a timely topic for the months following my writing it. Luckily, I handled my situation much better than my song's protagonist.

Lyrics

Verse 1
Holding me up while Breaking Me Down will never be okay
I don't know why I'm waiting around when you're never going to stay
Searching for Clues with ambulance Blues is getting in the way
And I don't know why I'm waiting to die when Heaven's Blown Away

Chorus
But I've been overdue
And it's not about you
And I've been used to it
But you're not used to it
And you've been starry-eyed
And I've been mystified
But now I'm not long for this world
So just take me and let me go
So just take me and let me go

Verse 2
Painting me black won't stop the attack it's moved on to my brain
Sorting through lies won't immobilize this cancer or this pain
You need to go I'm making it so you're not the one to blame
Holding you down won't turn this around so get out of the rain

Chorus
But I've been overdue
And it's not about you
And I've been used to it
But you're not used to it
And you've been starry-eyed
And I've been mystified
But now I'm not long for this world
So just take me and let me go

Bridge
Deaths knocking at the door
So what you waiting for
Do you want to see me beg you not to go
I can see it in your eyes and I know it's on your mind
So just take me and let me go
So just take me and let me go
So just take me and let me go


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

keep up the good work

Thank you. I will. 😎

You are a good songwriter, steveo.

Thank you so much, I appreciate the words of support. 😎

nice song man! your voice fits perfectly with the chords, and its an interesting lyric! im glad you could get over your disease! vote and reesteem for this post! also following you bro, i make you a humble invitation to my post! my best wishes for you, keep rocking!

Thank you. I appreciate the kind words. Following you. 😎

Haunting, man. Everything about this song is good.

Thank you, I appreciate you taking the time to let me know that you like it.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations, dear fellow. Excellent!

Thank you. 😎

videos like this are those that help me relax the excellent presentation, I invite you to review my humble blog. You have my vote and reesteem, remember, I will continue to follow it

Thanks for the support I'm going to check you out. 😎

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87