STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 95 - HOME COOKING (ORIGINAL SONG BY STEPHEN MARTIN AND LOGAN ROUTE)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)



I wrote 'Home Cooking' with a country singer named Logan Route. He's extremely talented. I'm putting links to his YouTube channel and Facebook musician page. I hope you like the song.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcAKI5jrSTzA3cluYezIngA

https://www.facebook.com/llroute/

Lyrics

Vrs. 1
The first time I pulled a fish off the line, my daddy smacked me on the behind. He said boy this one's a keeper. You're going to eat good tonight.
My mama cooked it up and served it to me. My daddy said you know son nothing is free. That fish gave its life so you could see just how good home cooking can be.

Chorus
I miss my momma’s home cooking tonight.x3
Woah. Woah.

Vrs. 2
The years they went by and I grew up strong, hunting and fishing and carrying on. Mama and Daddy were moving along, down that tranquil stream of life.
She was too young to fade so damn fast. Her flower had bloomed her moment had passed. And we were stuck picking up the pieces. Without a chance to catch our breaths.
We sat at the table pushing round peas. Tears in our eyes, nowhere to be. Lost, without an anchor, left out to see. My dad said you know son life isn't fair, and a woman like your momma boy she is rare. If you find one you've got to keep her and hold her so very tight.
Daddy got up and left the room. Left me to thinking, left me to stew, and it was all I could do to finish up my food.

Repeat Chorus

Vrs. 3
Well a few years went by and I found me a girl brought her home to Daddy to show her my world. He said boy that one's a keeper we're going to eat good tonight. And though he wasn't wrong something wasn't right. Daddy's cooking is good. We ate every bite. But there's something about the way Mama used to say grace that added a little extra spice.

Repeat Chorus

Vrs. 4
Well that girl became my wife and now we have a son time keeps on moving but there's no moving on. When the good Lord takes your mama when you're way too young. Sometimes you need to sing a song.

Repeat chorus


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations @acousticsteveo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you. 😎

Hi acousticsteveo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you. 😎

Congratulations @acousticsteveo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36